A Weeks Worth of Gallivantin’~Livin’ Easy

Growing up in Mississippi, you hear a lot of Southern colloquialisms.’Gallivant’ is one I heard on a regular basis from my Mom, and it usually sounded something like this …..”Where are you going and who are you going to be with? Because you ain’t going to be just gallivantin’ all over town!” Well, that’s exactly what I was doing, all the while thinking I was ‘too big for my britches’ (I’ll leave this one for another post}, because there’s not much else to do in small southern towns of Mississippi!  Everyday living in the South is as slow as our southern drawl and these ‘dog days of summer’ are even slower!

With temperatures in the upper 90’s and humidity at 80 to 90%, running outdoors can be difficult. Many take their workouts indoors to beat the heat, some (like my hubby) like to run at high noon just to prove how tough they are, while others just go on a fitness hiatus until fall. For menopausal women, such as myself, the later is just not an option! These days it seems as though just watching food commercials causes weight gain. Can anyone else relate?  I’m having to get creative with ways to get my workouts in while beating the heat and switching things up a bit. So, here’s my weeks worth of workouts and ‘gallivantin’………

Sunday: Never a true “workout” day for me, so if I do anything active it is usually something that I consider relaxing ….like an early evening on the water with the “watermelon” (my kayak) and a beautiful sunset stroll with the hubby. A fabulous way to start the week; don’t you think?

Monday: So far, I’ve been sticking to my strength training schedule very well and I can tell the difference it makes in my ‘frame of mind’. Makes me feel accomplished and I like that! Today was leg and glutes day …lots of squats, variations of squats and more squats. When you’re pushing 50, you can never do too many squats!! Followed it up with a bike ride while the hubby got in his run. This actually works well for us ….I ride alongside him and we chat, catch up on our day then I’ll ride ahead, work up a sweat and circle back for more conversation. Any time spent together is time well spent!20160725_174044

Tuesday: Strength training …back/biceps. Female drama reared its ugly head later in the day which totally ruined any and all motivation for cardio. Instead, I went home and drowned my frustrations in a couple of glasses of wine. Could someone please tell me why the female species has to be so darn dramatic? I’m sure that will be another post for another day!

Wednesday: Early morning 3 mile run with a running buddy before work. Since my ankle injury, I’ve really cut back on my running and I miss it …terribly. Although this heat and humidity makes it easy NOT to run, I am looking forward to cooler weather, hopefully a fully healed ankle and back to longer and more frequent runs. Therefore, this little three miler, literally, made my day!

Thursday: Being the manager of a gym does have its perks! 30 minutes on the elliptical to start my workday then the hubs met me at the gym for a chest/triceps workout. I do love working out with that man …mainly because he pushes me, but also because he flirts with me during our gym sessions! Once I found out that it was ‘national chocolate chip’ day; I knew what was for dinner…. who can resist a glass of wine and an Oh Yeah! One Bar, chocolate chip cookie dough, of course!20160804_192839.jpg

Friday: Day off from work means a day spent with the hubs …my favorite!! So, we took off bright and early with Ole Chester boy (our lab) and headed to the family farm. The hubby had some bush hogging to do ………20160805_203420

….while the hubby and Ole Chester boy got their ‘tractor therapy’ on, I got some serious sun therapy and caught up on my latest Runner’s World magazine. Since the farm has virtually no cell service, one has to find other means of entertainment. Today it was sunbathing in a pasture with the smell of tractor diesel fuel and fresh-cut grass all around and a friendly game of checkers ….it’s how we roll down here in Mississippi!

Saturday: After sleeping in a little, the hubby loaded up the ‘flying purple people eater’ (my mountain bike) and we headed for the trails. Just over 6 miles, 50 minutes and some seriously steep hills later; we were hot as heck, drenched in sweat and worn out. I must say …I’ve run these trails hundreds of times over the years. However, I do believe they are even more beautiful and peaceful while riding two wheels. The hill climbs may be more difficult, but the downhills are crazy fun!

Slow week down here in Mississippi ….but then, according to Ella Fitzgerald, they usually are!

“Summertime, and the livin’ is easy
Fish are jumpin’ and the cotton is high..”

 

I’m linking up with HoHoRuns and MissSippiPiddlin for their Weekly Wrap …so go check it out to see what other active women have been up to!WeeklyWrap

7 thoughts on “A Weeks Worth of Gallivantin’~Livin’ Easy

  1. I don’t think I have every actually seen the word gallivantin’ printed. It’s a staple in a Southern girl’s vocabulary wouldn’t you say? The dog days of summer are coming to an end sooner than later. I’m looking forward to some breaks in the Mississippi heat and humidity but along with that comes the time change too. 😦 Just so you know, this would be perfect in our Weekly Wrap 😉 I’d be happy to introduce you to our group in my post when you’re ready.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Welcome to the Weekly Wrap! As a fellow southern gal, I know ALL the colloquialisms (whew — what a word in itself!). One I never hear though is something my Mother said to us kids “I’m going to knock a knot on you!” What happened to your ankle? I’ve had my share of ankle injuries. Even though I’m a huge fan of water related activities, I have not kayaked. I love the name of yours. Very appropriate. Thanks for linking, Teresa. Hope to see you again next week!

    Like

    • Oh my, that’s funny…my Mom used to tell us that she would “snatch a knot in us” all the time! We southerners definitely have language all our own!

      The ankle, I believe, is an overuse injury. I am prone to them due to flat feet. The key will be to hold back on mileage once the weather cools off. It’ll be tempting to jump right back in ..I’m sure you’ve been there.

      Tricia was telling us all about her skiing adventure and how sore she is! I haven’t skied since I was in high school, so I was very impressed with her!

      I’ve enjoyed the linkup and will definitely be back! It’s great to meet you!

      Like

  3. MB Jackson says:

    That is a very active week! Yes we southern ladies do have our own lingo and that is just fine with me! I just clicked over to follow on Instagram, we fit and 50 types must stick together! LOL! and a glass of red wine and anything goes together in my book! Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

