This Week’s Gallivantin’~Staying on Track

Seriously, I could sum this week up with one word ….HUMID!ย  I honestly don’t know if it really is worse this year, my tolerance is weaker or it is merely enhanced by my hormones. I’ll let you in on a little secret, if you aren’t as ‘mature’ in age as I am, humidity and hot flashes just do not mix. When the outside of your body is being smothered by thick, hot, moist air that feels like a 50lb wool blanket while, at the same time, your body is experiencing its own little thermonuclear fusion going on inside ….well, let’s just say it doesn’t end well!

As much as I hate having running injuries, it really hasn’t bothered me that I haven’t been able to run as much as usual this summer. I’ve enjoyed my bike rides and it has forced me to be more diligent in my strength training. However, I am more than ready for some cooler temps and getting back to some longer distance runs again.

With all of that being said, here’s what I’ve been up to this past week:

Monday: Leg day …and boy did I kill it! I had my workout all planned out when my friend, a personal trainer at the gym where I work, said …”let’s do leg together”. I should have known better …I couldn’t walk, bend over, get in/out of my vehicle or sit down without experiencing excruciating pain for 3 days! But it was a good pain, in a sick twisted sort of way! ๐Ÿ™‚ I learned that I need to do more weighted squats and not just air squats.

Leg

Tuesday: Strength training – Back/Biceps and a 45 minute Spin class. I have been teaching Spin classes off and on for ten years. During the summer months, our Spin class attendance usually slacks up. It’s been a couple of months since I’ve actually taught a class and it felt great to get back in the saddle again!

Wednesday: 30 minutes on the elliptical in the morning and rode the mountain bike 7 miles with the hubby while he ran after work.

Thursday: Squeezed in a good shoulder workout with Tammy (my PT friend), then the hubby met me at the gym for a chest/tri workout. Nothing worth having comes easy….right??

20160812_175043

Friday: Abs/Core and 30 minutes on the Elliptical. I’ve decided that I really need to work on my balance for a couple of reasons ….one, I tend to keep some sort of ankle injury and two, I look like a staggering drunk while trying to do walking lunges! So, I borrowed this little balance disc to use while at home. I thought it would be convenient to use while standing in the kitchen cooking ….and since I often times enjoy a glass of wine while I cook, it will make the balancing aspect even more challenging! It’s much harder than it looks and I’m now praying that I don’t fall and break my ankle trying to improve its stability ๐Ÿ™‚

20160812_083909.jpg

Saturday: Whoo hoo! Finally back out on the road for a Saturday (semi) long run! ย Yes, it was humid and yes, I was struggling …but I was just grateful to be back out there. Just a little side note here, MissSippiPiddlinย was feeling spry today. She was climbing those hills like a mountain goat!ย Six hot humid and hilly miles followed by an afternoon nap and Olympic watching …go USA!

One area I really need to focus on is my nutrition. I’m not the ‘cleanest’ of eaters. I’ll admit that I really like wine and Reese’s Cups. I’ve been trying to educate myself and would welcome any nutrition focused blog recommendations that you guys have to offer. Here are a few things I did try this week…..

Anyone else have breakfast for dinner, or is that just a ‘Southern’ favorite? Right now, my favorite is scrambled eggs, grape tomatoes, fresh spinach and feta cheese ….yummy!! I found these blackened salmon steaks at Sam’s and they are delicious, especially paired with my all time favorite side dish …sautรฉed asparagus, tomatoes and fresh mushrooms! I saute’ them in olive oil, garlic powder, greek seasoning and a tad of Worcestershire sauce. Last, but certainly not least, I’m loving this Salted Caramel protein drink byย Labrada. It’s perfect when you’re on the go with no time to mix your own.

Hoping everyone has a wonderful week. Remember, everyday may not be good but there’s something good in every day!

xoxo, no matter where you are in life …find your ‘fabulous’!

I’m linking up withย HoHo Runsย andย MissSippiPiddlinย for theirย Weekly Wrap. So be sure to ย  stop by and check out these two ladies …they’re always up to something fun andย adventurous!WeeklyWrap

 

12 thoughts on “This Week’s Gallivantin’~Staying on Track

  1. Well you are looking quite fabulous for being close to 50 ๐Ÿ™‚ That is fun you run with Tricia!
    I always have a time with balance on one leg as well, my left one in particular…
    You are so right about heat and hot flashes LOL I can not get comfortable.
    Nice job last week!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think it’s been a hot summer everywhere this year. I hate to complain because we’re so cold here 9 months out of the year, and my garden loves the heat, but training has been tough! I need to join you in a clean eating initiative, as mine seems to have faded away.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I see Tammy roped you into Leg day with her! I’m glad you took my place as I was having a hard time Monday!
    Funny thing is we are use to the heat and humidity down South, but I can say it is much worse this year! Even guys that work out in the elements year after year are agreeing with me. At least we are on the back side of it now. Bring on Fall!
    I can relate to that face except I stick my tongue out! Tammy can always tell when something is difficult for me when I do this. I can’t help it, lol. Maybe I’ll have to try and capture that one day. I was glad to be back with you girls. Yall always help the time go by faster.
    Thank you for joining us again this week for the Weekly Wrap!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. fasterfastest says:

    I love your balance improvement method! Added bonus for the glass of wine challenge ๐Ÿ˜‰ I am also a huge fan of breakfast for dinner! One of my favorites is savory oatmeal with egg on top. There are so many variations (a bunch here: http://www.shape.com/healthy-eating/meal-ideas/16-savory-oatmeal-recipes) and it’s so filling and full of fiber and protein. I usually just use rolled oats and almond milk, mix in spices, some veggies (often kale and mushroom), and throw it in the microwave. Then I’ll scramble an egg or two to put on top of the oatmeal. It literally takes 5 minutes to make and it’s so yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Being of a certain age as well, let’s blame those ridiculous hormones! Which bike ride are you considering in Alabama? I’m so glad you mentioned that backroad series. I had no idea it existed and I really enjoy riding. I think I need a Tammy in my life to kick my butt into shape. I would have loved to crash your Saturday run. Thanks for linking, Teresa!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Well, since there are only 4 left in the series this year, that limits the options. May have to catch one next year. Although, the last one in October sounds good! Tammy will definitely kick some butt…I have a love/hate relationship when it comes to working out with her ๐Ÿ™‚ And as to Saturday’s run, I have a feeling you would have not only crashed it, but you would have ‘crushed’ it too! (I’ve seen your splits!)

      Like

Share your thoughts

