This Week’s Gallivantin’~Dog Days & 5k’s

Monday: Nothing ….was supposed to be Leg day but what can I say; it was a Monday! And the dear sweet Mother in law brought brownies over at 8 o’clock in the evening. Four, I had four! Was pretty mad at myself but went to bed channeling my best Scarlett O’Hara saying, “….after all, tomorrow is another day.” #justkeepingitreal

Tuesday: ’twas a crazy busy day and was so looking forward to Spin class ….no one showed! Ugh, seriously? Okay, fine. I’ll go home and flip my tractor tire; that’ll give me a great leg AND cardio workout!! Got home, prepared a giant bottle of ice water, started to walk outside and …..yep, RAIN! Ugh, seriously??? Normally, at this point, I would’ve just given up and poured myself a full glass of Merlot. But those brownies were still haunting me…with overwhelming guilt! Soooo, I went downstairs and decided to get in a Spin/HIIT workout that went something like this:

*Ran stairs x 10, kettlebell deadlifts x 12, 10 minute seated climb on Spin bike

*Ran stairs x 10, kettlebell deadlifts x 12, 10 minute standing climb on Spin bike

*Ran stairs x 10, kettlebell deadlifts x 12, 10 minutes of jumps on Spin bike

Forty minutes later, drenched in sweat, I was feeling pretty good about those brownies I indulged in the night before!!

Wednesday: Early morning 3 mile run with Tammy. Still humid as heck….fall, where are  you??? The hubby met me at the gym after work and we got in a solid back/bicep workout. I’m really enjoying being back on track with my strength training. Followed this up with a tasty little protein shake and a short little walk around the neighborhood with the hubby and the two ‘knuckleheads’ (Chester and Chaco)

Thursday: Dang deadlifts!!! Woke up with a pretty serious “hitch in my get-up-and-go” (another one of these Southern colloquialism) and I’m blaming the deadlifts. Hurts to bend, stoop and twist at the waist. I’ve signed up to run a 5k this Saturday so this has got to be gone….SOON! Stretched, stretched and stretched some more throughout the day and fired up the old heating pad for the evening. Keeping my fingers crossed.

Friday: No change. Though it’s not worse, it certainly could be better. I feel like an 80-year-old lady here! I mean, seriously??? Just when the ankle starts feeling better, I have to go and throw a “monkey wrench” in my back. Sigh… I’m beginning to question if I will actually be able to run my race tomorrow. My New Year’s resolution was to run a race per month so if I have to walk the dang thing, I will. No matter what…the race must go on!

 

Hahaha! Can anyone else relate??? A little running humor goes a long way …but only for a short time.

Saturday: Awake at 4 am to drive an hour and a half for a race that I’m not even sure I will be able to run. Makes perfect sense, right?? Of course it does! I’ve really been looking forward to this month’s race, “Dog Days 5k”, due to the fact that all proceeds benefit a local area service dog organization and that they, not only welcome but, encourage participants to bring their dogs. This was Chester Boy’s race debut! He has been running with the hubs for about 3 years now and absolutely loves it! He’s so funny ….on non-running mornings that we are up early, moving about the house, he gives us the look that says “you guys are really disturbing my sleep here”. But, the minute the hubby walks out of the bedroom with his running shoes in hand …Ole Chester boy jumps up, stretches and begins wiggling around with anticipation of getting a few miles in! So, needless to say, as soon as he saw a pair of running shoes being picked up, the 4 am wake up didn’t bother him in the least! As to my back/hip issue …..thankfully, it was a little better upon awakening but certainly not ‘race’ better. My plan was to walk the 5k, after all, just finishing is the goal, right? Wrong! Who am I kidding? I knew that once I lined up at the starting line, I would start running ….even if it killed me. It’s just how we runners are wired! And that’s exactly what happened. I ran, slow and steady …well, actually it was more like trotting. Although it was one of my slowest 5k times ever (averaging 10:30 pace), I was satisfied just knowing that I didn’t have to walk and I believe the run actually loosened those tight muscles! Now, Ole Chester boy is another story, he had a great run! He and the hubby placed 2nd overall in the ‘doggie division’ with a time of 25:57! I was so proud of them and as you can tell by the pictures below, Ole Chester boy appeared pretty dang proud of his medal as well! They also gave out awards to dogs in varying categories and Chester won a ribbon for having the prettiest tail….who knew?!? They had a swimming pool for the dogs to cool off in, cold wet towels at the finish line for the humans, breakfast biscuits (for peeps) and doggie biscuits were on hand for refueling. It was a fun, well-organized race benefiting a great cause!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Sunday: Rest!

What injuries are you dealing with right now? Do you slow down or run through them?  Do you run with your dog? Have you ever entered a race with your dog? Tell me about it, I’d love to hear from you!

As always, I’m linking up with HoHoRuns and MissSippiPiddlin for the Weekly Wrap, so be sure to drop by and see what they have been up to this week. You are sure to find all the motivation and encouragement you need to get you out the door and moving this next week!WeeklyWrap

Here’s to an injury free week for everyone!

x0x0,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty (while feeling 80…at the moment!)

15 thoughts on “This Week’s Gallivantin’~Dog Days & 5k’s

  1. When I started running outside, I ran with our dog Mini. It’s like I needed her as an excuse (it was weird). Anyhoo, she knew when we were going because of my attire & shoes. Long story short, I had to sadly stop running with her. From then on, I’d have to hide I was putting on my running shoes. I’d sneak outside in the dark so she wouldn’t know. I hope your back is better! I’d file that away in the “it always has to be something” file. And how about that Chester having the prettiest tail! You must be so proud. Thanks for linking, Teresa!

    Like

    • Awww, sweet Mini got the old ‘smoke & mirrors’ trick! 🙂 Back is much better today! Now I have to decide if that means I need to do more deadlifts (being more careful with form) or run as far away from them as possible!! You’re right…it’s ALWAYS something!

      Like

    • Hahaha! Yes, I really do have a tractor tire in my backyard! I had mentioned to the hubby a few times that it would be cool to have one for workouts …the next time he went down to their family farm, he brought me an old one. That’s true love, right?!? It’s a pretty good sized one too ….a great workout!!! 🙂 There’s a picture of it on my instagram!

      Like

  2. Time out! I can’t post on the Sweaty Momentos! So I’m doing it here, maybe you can move it?? What a great post Teresa! I so loved that quote, it is near perfect and I do see you too agree! It made me smile to see you have it hanging with all your bits and pieces of running accomplishments. We all have our own journey and each and every one is different. Thank you for sharing yours!
    Ok now to this post, (I get behind sometimes, #keepingitreal) 🙂
    You’re very lucky the hubs finds fitness just as important and yall can do it together. While mine does some things, weights have not been one of them.
    I can so relate to heading to a race an not even knowing if it will happen. Memphis remember. OMG my dog so knows when he can come and when he can’t, when I’m dressed for work and when I’m ready to run. How do they know that?
    Wrangler would have loved this and the pool at the end even more! I’m going to have to remember this to do next year! I’m so glad you had a good race and even more a great time!

    Liked by 1 person

    • As much as I love the quote, I love that you took the time to hand write it even more!
      Yes, I know I’m fortunate that my hubby enjoys working out as much as I do. While he does enjoy running and lifting weights with me…he does not enjoy bike riding nearly as much as I do. He only does that to make me happy 🙂 I saw that you had MrSippi out there running with you guys yesterday…I know you enjoyed that! Keep asking him to lift weights with you and I bet he will give in; then before he knows it, he will be hooked!
      I am definitely planning on running this 5k again next year…I’ll remind you so we can get Wrangler in on the competition!!

      Like

  3. no running with our dog…Max has short legs and probably could make it a mile (maybe) ,but certainly not much farther. He’s a pretty gifted speed walker, though. And, injuries…UGH. I no longer consider my hamstring/glute/piriformis “thing” an injury but a permanent issue. It’s manageable, but some days it’s a challenge to not scream because the tightness is so restricting

    Liked by 1 person

    • I read about Piriformis….this could be what I have!! Does it come and go? I’m much better today. Planning on beginning a stretching routine as I am absolutely terrible about not stretching…I just walk out the front door and start running. I know, I know…it’s not good, but has always worked in the past, before I was old and decrepit! Hahaha!!

      Like

      • The piriformis thing (for me) is pretty much always there, but the degree of pain/tightness certainly changes…almost daily. I really think the humidity plays a part (like it does for those who have arthritis). Also, I’m not the most disciplined with warm-up and cool-down…so that’s definitely a factor as well.

        Like

  4. I love, love, love races that benefit animal shelters! How fun to see all the dogs. Dead lifts leave me pretty incapacitated as well. Guess that means I need to do them more. Ha! Boo on nobody showing up to spin. I went to a step class once (way back when step was cool) and it was me and the instructor. Ugh. It took everything I had not to just leave.

    Like

Share your thoughts

