This Weeks Gallivantin’~Hello September!

This week ushered out the oppressively hot and steamy month of August leaving us with a sweltering and sweaty September. But hey, at least it’s a ‘ber’ month…meaning it has to cool off sometime, right?? Down here in Mississippi, that may not happen until late November and even though we’re used to it, we still like to complain about it! The really ironic thing about this is that as much as we complain about how hot it is; we absolutely cannot tolerate cold weather. Let it get below freezing down here, like a bitter 28 degrees cold, and we will start ‘singing the blues’ like you’ve never heard! The truth of the matter is that those of us born and raised in the South, are conditioned to the smothering, sticky, wet heat and just can’t handle that ‘bone-chilling’ cold. If we could have it our way, we’d have every day be a nice balmy 75 degrees. So, until we get our way, we’ll groan about the humidity and sip our sweet tea while ‘blessing everyone’s heart’! Which brings me to this weeks Weekly Wrap…..

Monday:  Skipped my scheduled leg day due to my strained back muscle from last week. I’m on the mend but wanted to give it a couple of more days to heal. I’ve learned a tough lesson in my old age…listen to your body! I did want to get a little cardio in, however; so I decided to do some kayaking while the hubby ran the trails. I managed to get about 45 minutes in of steady paddling, against the wind at times. As relaxing as it is to be on the water; I certainly felt like it provided a decent little upper body workout.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Tuesday: Taught Spin class …a good 45 minute sweat session!

Wednesday:  Early morning 3 miler with Tammy. But first, I stretch…..another lesson I’m learning in my old age. Tight hammies are always a problem for me ….I’m sure because I don’t stretch enough! Lol.20160901_200141

Thursday:  Hello September!!! First day of #septembersquat challenge and #plankmyday. I also decided that today was the day to get back on schedule with my strength training. I worked back/biceps that morning then the hubs met me at the gym after work for a chest/tri workout …whew! “two-a-days’ weight lifting makes for a great workout!

 

Friday:  Having the day off means sleeping in and spending the morning with the hubby getting our cardio on! After completing day 2 of #septembersquats and #plankmyday, we loaded up the ‘flying purple people eater’ (the mtn bike) and headed for the trails. When I tell you that these hills are brutal, I mean they are B.R.U.T.A.L.!  Running them will set your lungs on fire and riding them will set your quads on fire…either way, it’s a heart-pounding, muscle-building workout and I love it!

Saturday: College football kickoff day! And since there’s no better way to spend a Saturday down here in the South, we headed to Starkville to cheer on the ‘dawgs in their season opener against the University of South Alabama. While the game was an ugly one (we just needed more cowbell), it was a beautiful, hot and sweaty day for some SEC football with the hubby! #hailstate  (Day 3 of #septembersquats and #plankmyday)20160903_110257

Sunday:  A well-earned rest day! Did manage to get my squats and plank challenge done.

Nutrition News:  I’ve been making great strides lately in focusing on my nutrition. Eating cleaner during the week and allowing a few ‘splurges’ on the weekends. Here are a few of my new favorites….

  1. My new favorite protein drink is Quest salted caramel protein powder, almond milk, a teaspoon of Leaner Creamer(see below) and half of a banana. Sometimes, I will pour about 1/4 cup of my morning coffee in it as well. This makes for a great afternoon ‘pick-me-up’ after a strength training session!20160819_075940
  2. Leaner Creamer! This stuff is the bomb.com! It is an all natural, coconut oil based coffee creamer that helps promote weight loss. If you are interested in giving it a try, please us my link to receive 10% off your first order!20160902_072104
  3. Halo Top ice cream! It’s pretty darn good and healthy too! I’ll be trying the Birthday Cake flavor next ….yummy!

     

And with that, another week has come to an end. Here’s to hoping next week brings us some cooler temps and many happy running miles!

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty….while squatting and planking every dang day!

Over to you guys….

Have you tried Leaner Creamer? If so, are you a fan?

Have you tried Halo Top ice cream? What’s your favorite flavor?

Are you a college football fan? Did your college team win yesterday?

I’m enjoying meeting all of you fitness and running bloggers out there through Tricia’s and Holly’s Weekly Wrap link! You ladies have welcomed me, the new blogger on the block, with your listenng ears and encouraging words and I greatly appreciate it!

WeeklyWrap

21 thoughts on “This Weeks Gallivantin’~Hello September!

  1. Alright that creamer sounds great. I’m all about coconut oil so I’ll get some as soon as I get next week’s water detox over with. I have tried Halo Top and it’s divine. Yeah our bone chilling weather is just around the corner. Go us. Not!

    Like

    • With all of the wine and coffee I drink…a water detox would be most beneficial for me! I do really well with my water intake during the week, but I fail miserably on the weekends. Let me know how you like the creamer …they have hazelnut flavor as well!

      Like

  2. YES! I love college football, and my Iowa Hawks won (but they usually have a couple “easy” pre-season games). Oh gosh…running hills and biking hills are two different games, aren’t they? There’s a trail (a hilly trail) I run frequently. It’s tough, the hills are long and somewhat steep. But riding them…holy crap! Major challenge when gravity pulls the bike downward as you’re pedaling upward…

    Like

  3. Karen @ Fit in France says:

    Enjoyed your post. This is the first time I have stumbled on your blog.

    Unfortunately, no college football here in France. It is one of the things I miss about the US ! I was commenting on another blog today that also talked about coffee creamer… we actually don’t have it in France. People take their coffee black for the most part.

    Like

    • I’m new to the world of blogging so I haven’t been out there long at all. How cool that you live in France and get to run in some beautiful places! I do remember, while vacationing in Paris, that coffee creamer wasn’t an option. Wimpy Americans can’t handle their coffee black…at least this one can’t! 😂☕ Thanks for stopping by, I’m heading over to your blog now!

      Like

  4. We love all football over here–but we do root for the Badgers! My youngest wants to go to school there–we’ll see how that turns out!

    I guess I’m wimpy because I don’t like hot, sticky weather any more than I like cold weather. We’ve had a week of the upper 70s and low humidity and it has been heavenly!!!

    Like

  5. I think it’s officially time I try Halo Top. I keep seeing it on Instagram and twitter — and no one seems to have a bad thing to say about it! Unrelated: I feel like this summer went so fast and it’s hard to believe it’s football season already. I’m looking forward to a little cool off in the coming weeks/months. Love your bike photos! That trail sounds intense.

    Like

  6. My hammies have a mind of their own at times…we wouldn’t know what to do if all parts behaved lol
    Strength training by kayak looks great to me 🙂 It is nice the hubbs work out with you!

    Like

  7. I really enjoy our winter running. I’m good with 28 too as long as it’s not windy. No.can.do. I’ve heard other people rave about Halo Top, but I don’t think it’s in our stores. But, I do stay away from THAT aisle — so maybe it is. I was bummed to see the last AL backroad “thingy” is on the weekend I’m running Chicago (AND in my hometown no less), but let’s seriously keep that on the back burner for next spring! And yes, my team did win. Whew. Thanks for linking, Teresa!

    Like

  8. I can hardly wait to get my Leaner Creamer in! I was hoping it would be here today but hopefully tomorrow! This week has gone to you know what in a handbasket. I was swamped playing catch up at work so looks like I’ll only get in 1 workout this week. I’m not fretting over it much I need the break!
    Thanks again Teresa for linking up and sharing the Leaner Creamer!

    Like

  9. MB Jackson says:

    Awww, listening to our bodies, always a tough one unless it is screaming for a glass of wine! LOL! I am a Florida Gator and I love football season- it is the best time of year! I bought a kayak this weekend so watch out- here comes my lake shots too! Looks like a great week! Don’t you love 3 day weekends? I am checking out this creamer- thanks for sharing!

    Like

Share your thoughts

