This Weeks Gallivantin’ ~Meet Aunt Minnie

At the risk of sounding like a broken record, this weekly wrap finds us another week closer to Fall, yet still experiencing summer temperatures. You know it’s been a hot summer when you are thrilled to see that the weather app shows 80 degrees for your early morning run! However, the leaves are beginning to fall and every now and then we catch a breeze with the slightest scent and feel of fall in the air, football season is in full swing and there is pumpkin flavored everything in stores; all of which bring hope and assurance that fall is near!

I started out this week motivated and on track with my fitness goals only to have them all derailed mid-week with a few of life’s little “bumps in the road”. But hey, sh*t happens, right? In my current menopausal state, my initial response to such interruptions is with frustration, a few colorful words and mild hysteria; however; I quickly realize the ridiculousness of my behavior and brush them off with a smile in an attempt to make the most of every day …until crazy ‘Aunt Minnie’ (mine and my hubby’s affectionate nickname for this wild ride I’m on called menopause….get it? Minnie Pause?) strikes again. So, with all of that being said, let’s see how this past week ‘wrapped up’ ….menopausehandledraft3a2

Monday: Leg day with Tammy and MissSippiPiddlinsquat and plank challenge and a 3 mile evening run with the hubby. Not bad for a Monday, right???

Tuesday: Strength training (Back/Biceps) and taught a Spin class ….oh yeah, wearing my new capris that the hubby bought for me. Each month when Uncle Sam calls him off for Guard duty, he always brings me some sort of “happy” back and this time it was these awesome Nike capri’s ….yes, I do have the best husband ever!

Wednesday: Darned those leg workouts!! I don’t think I’ve ever worked legs and not be sore for days…sigh. So, due to sore legs and a little ‘wayward child’ frustrations, I took a well needed rest day and the hubby, knowing that I could use a break, asked me out on a date. So, movie night it would be ….a date with the hubs, Sully and the biggest tub of popcorn no human should ever attempt to consume! (I’m blaming this one on crazy ‘Aunt Minnie’ as well) The movie was great…if you haven’t seen Sully, I highly recommend it.

Thursday: Since eating an insane amount of popcorn the night before, things starting going downhill… In addition to everything at work falling apart, my vehicle decided to retire itself….ugh. After spending the entire day dealing with electricians and HVAC technicians at the gym, I received a call later that evening informing me that the front door of the gym, which stays locked 24/7, was allowing members to enter but not to exit. Great, so now we have a ‘Hotel California’ deal going on …’you can check in anytime you want, but you can never leave’! Whew, what a day! No working out at all…no cardio, no squats, no planking, no strength training…nadda. However, I may or may not have consumed quite a few glasses of wine that evening! (Aunt Minnie love wine!)

Friday: Whoo hoo! Day off with the hubs! What to do, what to do…. Sleep in? Go for a run? Go kayaking? Ride bikes? Not a chance. Back to the gym bright and early to meet the locksmith regarding the possessed door not letting folks out after they’ve worked their butts off; then we headed out on a pre-car shopping excursion. Most women would probably love to go car shopping; but not me. I have no idea what I want. I’ve been driving a Tahoe for the past 8 years and before that it was kid-friendly minivans. For the first time in a long time, I don’t have to consider three boys, their friends and loads of football and soccer equipment needed to be transported when shopping for a vehicle. Do I want something smaller with better gas mileage or another SUV to haul my bike and kayak around? Hmmmm…. time will tell. I’ve got it narrowed down to a few options and they are all completely opposite of one another! Decisions, decisions. Day 3 with no cardio or strength training and I’m beginning to get grumpy.

Saturday: Since we had no long run planned for the day, we slept in a little before hitting the road again …this time, Biloxi bound for our September race, the Stephen Siller Tunnel to Towers 5k. This race was first organized in New York City after the terrorists attack on 9/11 to honor those firefighters and first responders who lost their lives on that fateful day. It takes you on the same route that Stephen Siller, himself, ran that day to get back to the World Trade Center. The emotions one experiences as they exit the Brooklyn Battery tunnel is one that cannot be described. If you live in the NYC area and haven’t already participated in this race, you should definitely do so. If you want a great excuse to take a trip to NYC, this is it! They have since organized similar runs throughout the USA in efforts to raise money for the foundation. If you are not familiar with the Stephen Siller story, I encourage you to check it out. It is an incredibly inspirational story of service and sacrifice. This particular race location is only in its second year; therefore, it was not without some snags, hiccups and disorganization. However; we honestly didn’t sign up for this one as a race. We weren’t concerned about times or PR’s. We simply ran together, side by side, in memory of, with respect and honor for those who selflessly gave their lives trying to save others 15 years ago. It was a beautiful and quiet run over the Biloxi Bay at sunset. There were firefighters running in full gear, EMS and policemen running in uniform, and many carrying American flags. As we approached the finish line, we passed five banners displaying the faces of all 343 firefighters who lost their lives on 9/11, evoking a wide array of emotions …sadness, appreciation, pride, gratefulness, comradery, respect and patriotism. Having participated in the NYC Tunnel to Towers race several years ago, this run has special meaning to us. Though this particular venue was short on miles and small in numbers; it was large in love, appreciation and honor to those who are more than deserving. May we never forget.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Ending my week with this run definitely puts all of the little “bumps in the road” I experienced this week in perspective. Crazy ‘Aunt Minnie’ may be wreaking havoc on my body these days, but I will not let her control my mind ….I have much to be thankful for and I will strive to make the most of each day!

On another note….the hubs and I finally nailed down the destination for my 50th birthday weekend getaway, which just so happens to be New Year’s Eve, and the destination for our 2017 summer vacation! I’m so excited! (We like planning ahead)

As always, I’m linking up with Tricia and Holly for their Weekly Wrap. If you’re looking to meet some amazing women, just like you, to gain knowledge, motivation and encouragement in your fitness journey, look no further ….this is the link up for you!weeklywrap

 

Let’s chat….

Anyone else dealing with crazy ‘Aunt Minnie’?

Did you downsize your vehicle once your kids started driving themselves?

Who else cannot resist the 10 gallon tub of popcorn at the movies?

Anyone else ever participated in the Tunnel to Towers run? NYC?

 

x0x0,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one hot flash at a time!

17 thoughts on “This Weeks Gallivantin’ ~Meet Aunt Minnie

  1. I think my comment got eaten :/
    A New Years Eve’s BD presents lots of exciting options! Celebration with a bang.
    That is so sweet your hubby brings you back a gift! The run sounds like a perfect tribute. The images from that morning will never leave me.

    Like

  2. Those 9-11 memorial runs look incredible, but I’d be a blubbering mess. No PR’s would be happening for me, either…but a race like that is not about finish times anyways. My husband is retired Air Force Lt. Cnl…he did six years of active duty (right out of high school) and then did another 24-ish years of Guard duty. (He never brought me back any fancy running gear, though, from any of his drill weekends). I love your Aunt Minnie stories…still avoiding her in my household (knock on wood)

    Like

  3. You are right, I’ll be tickled to see a high of only 89! Fall please come on! Ha.
    What a treat! I love the new capris. I really think if we do a leg workout and are not sore, something has to be wrong for sure. Where is the happy medium? Just slightly sore, not “can’t get off the pot” sore?? Oh well, guess what? Today IS leg day again!!! I hope you’ll join me in the soreness!
    I’ve found way more comfort in a glass of wine than I’ve expected! I’m getting better about embracing the warmth of red wine too.
    Ohhh I can’t wait to hear about this trip! I love planning a trip about as much as I do actually going on one!

    Like

  4. Aunt Minnie has finally started wreaking havoc on my mind. She did it about 10 years ago, and a magic medication kept her at bay. But she’s flexing her muscles now. Or maybe it’s my teenagers who keep pushing my buttons. I thought I was going to dodge that bullet. Or as one of my friends said, “I’m too cool for menopause”. Yep.

    She’s leaving my running alone, tho. I’ll take it.

    Like

  5. I’ve tried commenting twice, hoping 3rd time’s a charm. Don’t get me started about the never ending summer. Ridiculous. Minnie Pause? Bahahaha. Excellent. Except, with a dog named Mini it could get confusing. Mini Paws (<< get it ??). My birthday is a festive day just before Christmas and yours goes off with a bang. I'd pick a small SUV. The older I get, I groan every time I get out of my low car. Thanks for linking, Teresa!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Wow, you did have quite a week! That race sounds so moving and meaningful. I like to plan ahead, but can’t do it quite that far ahead – but it is nice to have something to look forward to!

    Like

  7. You know I’m right there with you in Minnie hell! Ugh. I swear my metabolism has ground to a halt. What a great hubby to bring your such fun capris. That race sounds like all kinds of awesome but I’d be a crying mess.

    Like

    • Minnie Hell….I like that analogy!!! Metabolism??? What is that? Mine has definitely flown the coop! I swear, wine is about the only thing that soothes the pain and it’s definitely not good for my non-existent metabolism! *sigh* yes, I’ll have another. 😂😂

      Like

  8. I actually live near the run you are talking about in NYC/NJ. But yet I have never been able to run it. I really think it would be an amazing experience. Maybe one day I will muster up the courage to take part in it. Good luck with your new car

    Like

Share your thoughts

