This Weeks Gallivantin’: Slacker, Sluggard and Sloth, oh my!

Yes, that about sums up my week. I’d like to think that I could blame my lack of activity on my ankle injury, children’s activities, a super hectic job or anything that sounds better than the truth …just had a serious case of couch potato-itis. I did mange to get my strength training workouts in and a 5k on Saturday, but I just couldn’t seem to find the time to get any cardio in between all of the terribly unhealthy meals I consumed!5e93db90309b89e83bb97dc86b4d8964

I guess we all have weeks like these, right? Come on …please tell me that you do too! Oh well, here’s how it looked…

Monday: Leg day

Tuesday: 45 minutes on Elliptical

Wednesday: Back/Biceps

Thursday: Chest/Triceps

Friday: Shoulders/Core

Saturday: 5k with the hubs

This was a super hilly out and back course and while I enjoyed the challenge, I knew it would affect my time. The advantage of out and back courses is the obvious, for every hill you climb going out, you make note to yourself that you will have that downhill coming back! Yay!! Unfortunately, the same is true for every downhill going out ….there’s an uphill coming back. And it all adds up to a bunch of hills that begins to wear you down by the second mile. The one thing that kept me pushing through the hills was the fact that I knew that last quarter of a mile stretch to the finish line would be downhill. The plan was to endure the hills and open it up during that last stretch to make up time. Good plan, right? Right. Well… when I turned the corner onto that last stretch that I was soooo looking forward to, it hit me….that strong North wind right in my face all the way to the finish line! Despite the hills and headwind, we both came away with 1st place AG awards…another benefit of small town 5k’s, the competition is usually not too stiff 🙂20161008_0900140

The good news is that I watched a video on how to tape for post tibial tendonitis and I’m happy to report that it felt pretty good …for a 5k. I’m not sure how it would hold up for longer distances though.20161008_094444

I have to share with you the very special overall awards that were given out at this race. They were handmade by members of the Mustard Seed, a Christian community for adults with developmental disabilities. They have made finisher’s medals for a few local half marathons as well. They also have handmade greeting cards and custom photo Christmas cards on their website which I’ve linked above. I think this is a fabulous way for these incredibly talented individuals to be a part of something they otherwise may not be able to participate  in.

 

With that, my week is done. As sloth-full as it was, I will redeem myself this week after being inspired by all of the incredible Chicago marathoners stories I will be reading in this link up!! Oh yeah, speaking of link ups…..I’m linking up with Tricia and Holly aka Chicago marathon finisher for another edition of Weekly Wrap. Head on over there and prepare to be inspired by some seriously incredible women balancing life, children, full-time jobs and a lot of running!weeklywrapxoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, even while occasionally slacking!

18 thoughts on “This Weeks Gallivantin’: Slacker, Sluggard and Sloth, oh my!

  1. Well you are pretty inspiring yourself! Some weeks we can’t be all out beasts, but that doesn’t mean it was slacker week 😉 You got a lot done! Congrats to you and the hubs on great race.

    Like

  2. Wow that is great that you were able to do hills, I hate them with a passion. I hope your post tib tendonitis gets better. That can be a hard on to deal with. Some off my patients have actually had some success with rolling it.

    Like

  3. Yes we all do have slothy weeks but yours doesn’t look like one of them to me! Congrats to both of you on the AG wins! I love when they put some thought into the awards and do something unique. I think I’ve only run one 5k this year. Wait that’s not true. Because I remix my RocknRoll races there’s a 5k too so a whopping 4 for me.

    Like

  4. Karen @ Fit in France says:

    Slacking and slothing … LOL. But hey, sometimes that is reality and blogging is also about keeping things real. Sounds like you had a heck of a lot of activity to me ! And congrats on your PR.

    Like

    • You are so right, it’s so important to keep things real in the blogging world but my goodness…with all of the impressive marathons completed this past weekend, it’s hard to feel like a slug! 🙂 There are some seriously amazing women out there!

      Like

  5. Congrats on the AG win!! Yes sometimes…I prefer to call it R&R weeks than slothful lol, but that’s necessary. I’m not a fan of out and back courses. Something about seeing the overall winners zoom past you when you can’t see the turnaround!

    Like

  6. Whoop! Congrats on the 5k AG win! One of my favorite H/Ms is First Light in Mobile. They let the adults with disabilities from L’Arche (race benefactor) make the finisher medals and the award plaques. I just think this make it so much more special! Sorry to get sidetracked. Sometimes I just go through periods of really low energy. I’ve learned to just ride it out and not stress over what I didn’t do. You still thinking about that 10 miler?

    Like

Share your thoughts

