This Weeks Gallivantin’: Moving On

My goodness, a week sure can fly! It seems like just yesterday I sat down to “wrap up my week” and yet here I sit chronicling another seven days. It’s been a busy week with a lot to process, ponder and plan. I left you guys, hanging on the edge of your computers no doubt, with some exciting news that I had been given from the hubs …..and now that the news has been shared first with the appropriate and necessary people, I can now share it with the rest of the world. The Bird family will be moving their “nest”! Yep, a new adventure and new chapter in a new city. I’m beyond excited! We will still be in the “land of cotton”, the Magnolia state, where the hospitality is plentiful and our southern drawls are soothingly endless; just a couple of hours away in a suburb of the capital city of Jackson. With so much to do in so little time, my head is swimming but so excited about the possibilities!

f46abef7308a928753947b1201af6b20

Not to worry, I’ll be keeping you abreast of our move and all that it entails over the next few weeks…for now, let’s see how my week unfolded.

Sunday:  I heard from the middle son who is off living the life as a freshman in college going through rush week. I was thrilled to get this picture of he and three of his childhood friends all accepting bids from the same fraternity. Friends since preschool, now brothers for life. My heart is full.fb_img_1476662762095

Monday: Typical Monday with no time to squeeze in a workout during the work day so the hubs and I went out the dam for a night run. The dam is a little over a mile long, totally flat and has light poles that are, conveniently, 100 meters apart. After running one mile across at a slow and easy pace, just enjoying the beauty of the moon reflecting off the reservoir; I then decided to get in a few strides on the return. After 8 x 100 strides with jogging in between, I finished 2.5 miles in 27 minutes with the strides average pace 6:30. It felt good to really stretch out my legs and sprint, even for those short little bursts!

20161017_185219.jpg

Tuesday:  45 minutes on the elliptical and tried this new coffee ….delicious!  When you can’t have the real thing in your coffee…. this will suffice.20161016_081625

Wednesday: Early morning 3 mile run before work with Tammy and strength training. Worked the back and bi’s again with the TRX trainer…. I’m liking this thing more and more!20161019_121105

Thursday: Strength training (Chest/Tri’s) and then, despite my irritable ankle, I signed the hubs and I up for this half marathon…..mbmheader2017.png

I must be crazy and I honestly do not know if this ankle will allow me to run 13.1 miles in just a few weeks. But hey, worse case scenerio…I can walk/run if I have to and I may be able to sweet talk a podiatrist into a cortisone shot to get me across that finish line.

Friday: Abs and core work then a laid back ‘date night’ with hubs. It was a beautiful, crisp fall night for some Friday night lights at his alma mater.

Saturday: No long run, no bike ride, no workout of any kind. Instead, we were up bright and early heading to Jackson to spend the day looking at houses. By the end of the day, I felt as if I had just completed a filming of HGTV’s House Hunters. I’m pretty sure all the same phrases heard on the TV show were uttered by either myself of the hubs at least once throughout the day …..open concept living, granite countertops, split bedroom floor plan, yard too small, jacuzzi tub, needs new appliances etc…..

Monday brings with it our official start of half marathon training and another trip to Jackson with more houses to view. Wish us luck!

As always, I’m linking up with Tricia and Holly for their Weekly Wrap, where like-minded ladies share their fitness journeys, offering advice, support, motivation and inspiration to one another…so go check them out!weeklywrap

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one chapter at a time!

17 thoughts on “This Weeks Gallivantin’: Moving On

  1. All the best with your move! That’s so exciting, minus the part where you move away from Tricia. 😦 How awesome your son and his friends are together at school! My teenager has preschool friends she still hangs out with, we’ll see about college though. Wow!

    Like

  2. I’m excited for your new adventure! But also admit I’m a little bummed…’cause you’ll be further away. I was hoping to convince you to meet me at some half marathons! I’m definitely going to have to try the Kahlua Coffee. I hear MS Blues is crazy hilly! But usually a great medal, right? Thanks for linking, Teresa!

    Like

  3. Karen @ Fit in France says:

    A move, how exciting ! Half marathon training and a move at the same time…. the end of the year will be busy but productive. Have a great week.

    Like

Share your thoughts

