Runfessions for October

Hello fellow runners! It’s Friday and the end of the month; which means it is time for another edition of “Runfessions” link-up hosted by Marcia where we take the opportunity to confess any and all of our running, fitness and …well, just life related confessions. It really does feel good to get a few things off our chests …or in our case, our feet!

So, without further adieu…

1. I runfess that I really, really enjoy running solo…. don’t get me wrong, I do love my hubby, who is my most favorite running buddy on the face of the earth! And I really enjoy running with my girlfriends and all the female chit-chat that entails! I mean, seriously, we can solve everyone’s problems over the course of a few miles! BUT, there is just nothing more serene, refreshing or satisfying that a nice quiet run….alone! It’s amazing how much thinking, praying, soul-searching and just plain old “get to know yourself” one can accomplish during a few miles out on the road! I’ve missed it and I’m ready to spend a little more time alone…just me, the sound of my labored breathing to let me know I’m alive and the sound of my feet pounding the pavement to remind me of my freedom.461826

2. I runfess that I have NEVER run in cotton until this week…. say what??? Yep. It’s true. I’m sure I’ve run in some sort of cotton blend but it’s always been a technical, wicking type shirt. I’ve never run in any “race” shirt that is all cotton. I don’t know why..it’s not that I have an aversion to cotton or anything, I just have always run in a technical type top. But Monday morning brought some really cool temps…perfect running temperature, as a matter of fact. I woke up early, ready to hit the road and realized that I haven’t unpacked my winter running clothes yet. Soooo, I dug deep down into the bottom of my “race t-shirts drawer” and pulled out my VooDu(athlon) shirt from my very first duathlon. I thought it was fitting since Halloween is just around the corner. It struck me as I pulled it out that I have never run in a race shirt…or any cotton shirt for that matter. How was this going to feel? Would I like it?  Would I be too hot? Or would I be too cold once I started sweating? I’m happy to report that it was perfect and I loved the “old school” feel I took on as I ran the neighborhood ….and since I’m about to be 50 years old, I’m pretty dang proud to feel “old school” as long as I’m still pounding that pavement.

118118-male-runner

Old School…back when running really was jogging

3. I runfess that I am, unequivocally, a medal snob…. there, I said it. I’m ashamed to admit it, but it is true. I always try to see what the medal looks like before I register for a big race. I mean, if I’m going to torture myself by running 13 or more miles, they better be hanging something really cool around my neck when I cross that finish line! Example: Last year I ran our hometown half marathon. I wasn’t all that impressed with the medal. It was a neat idea, a square block of magnolia wood (since Mississippi is the Magnolia state), but it was just …well, plain. A piece of wood. I thought, seriously? I’m going to pay $75 to run the same streets I run every weekend and get a block of wood at the end? But I wanted to support our local community and run with friends. This year, it’s the same medal, just shaped differently. I will not do it again. Snob, I know. Then, last week I decided to sign up for the Mississippi Blues Half marathon. This race is known for its incredible race bling! It’s been voted top 25 medals by Marathon and Beyond for the fifth year in a row! With that knowledge, I was excited to sign up for this one, anticipating the long-awaited medal reveal…..14691032_1124524520935539_8683371044319091992_n

…..to be honest, I wasn’t all that impressed. I know, I’m a tough crowd to please. My first thought was, “what the hell is it? A snowflake?” But I will admit, it’s growing on me. This will be the 10th year, which explains the 10 guitars. And as Tricia from MissSippiPiddlin pointed out to me….it spins!! Okay, so maybe it’s cooler than my initial impression. But still…I’ve got to run 13.1 miles on an injured ankle for this. Again, I say…it’s growing on me.

And with that, I’ll wrap up this month’s edition of “Runfessions”. I know, I’m a serious medal snob.  Hop on over to Marcia’s Healthy Slice for the link-up and read about other runfessions, maybe some that are a little less finicky! runfessions

Anyone else a medal snob?  Ever run in cotton race shirts? Solo runner or do you need a running buddy? 

xoxo,

Finding Fabulous at Fifty, one confession at a time!

 

20 thoughts on “Runfessions for October

  1. I never run in cotton. I love cotton shirts, just not for sweating (call me a cotton snob LOL). I know we’re supposed to run for the run itself, but I do like a pretty medal as a keepsake. There a few medals that made my heart sink just a tiny bit when I saw them at the finish line. And, I like running solo and with friends…for different reasons. Sometimes I want conversation and distractions, other times I just want solitude.

    Like

  2. You’re so funny with your medal criteria! Haha! I kind of like the Blues one. I appreciate the originality and how they worked the 10 in. Remember in the “old” days when they kept the medal secret? Now medals a marketing tool because races cost so darn much. Thanks for linking up!

    Like

  3. I could have written this post! Are you sure we aren’t related? I prefer cotton blended tanks now. I don’t like the feel of some of those tech-y shirts. Too slick! (I can’t wipe my sweaty, snotty hands on them!) Yeah, The Blues medal is a little odd…but the spinning definitely helps.

    Like

  4. I swear I could have written these same runfessions! Glad to see I’m not the only one who checks out the medal before signing up 😉 And I kid you no I ran in an old race shirt the other day cause all my long sleeve tech stuff is still packed away. Nothing wrong with old school!

    Like

  5. Blues medal is super cooool! haha, I have done a few races with NO medal…how crazy is that.
    I do enjoy my quiet morning solo runs…just do my own thing, loop where i want it is glorious!

    Like

  6. Heck, “almost 50” — you’re still a yong’un. 🙂

    I like a cool medal, but it’s seriously not what sways me. But a medal that spins? I think that’s kind of cool!

    And even though I log most of my miles solo, I prefer running in a group. But when you’re slow, you don’t get to run with the group. 😦

    Like

  7. MB Jackson says:

    hey medal snob! LOL! don’t you feel better just letting that all out? I look at the medal first too- does someone not??? those are the ones that need to runfess! 🙂

    Like

  8. Karen @ Fit in France says:

    I always run solo. Always. So I get you !
    The US has such great medals. Here in France they are very very plan, and only the big races have nice ones. You’d be unhappy here !

    Like

Share your thoughts

