The Ultimate Coffee Date: Fa-la-la-la-la

Welcome to December and to my very first “Ultimate Coffee Date” with Coco and Deborah where we all get together and have a virtual coffee date to catch up on life’s happenings for the past month and months to come!The-Ultimate-Coffee-Date2-1-600x600.png

If we were having coffee …. I’d tell you that while I do not like the winter months, I do love the month of December! I love the hustle and bustle, the “Holly” channel on my Sirius radio, the smell of fresh evergreen, hot apple cider, twinkling Christmas tree lights, a roaring fire, going to the mailbox and finding a Christmas card and Christmas Eve communion services. I love the Christmas month. However, I will admit that part of this love has always been related to seeing and feeling this magic and excitement through the eyes of my children. The older they get, the more this excitement fades. I struggle a little, getting in the “Christmas spirit”. With our recent move and all of the chaos that inherently comes with a move, has left me less than enthusiastic about the month of December and all the festivities that come with it. My oldest will be celebrating his 21st birthday next week, the middle one will be coming home from college the same day and the youngest will be joining all of us for a birthday dinner. I have always waited until after his birthday to decorate for Christmas because I never wanted his birthday to be overshadowed by the holidays. But I think this year that is exactly what we all need, we need a Christmas/birthday celebration! So, I’ve started decorating the house and will get the tree up early this week. We have a lot to celebrate and be thankful for this year!

If we were having coffee ….. I’d tell you that I have one more race to run this year in order to complete my “race-a-month” resolution that I made January 1st of 2016. I had initially intended these races to be 10k’s or half marathons, but life has a funny way of intervening with our plans. I’ve gotten in 3 10k’s, 5 5k’s, one half marathon, one duathlon, an 8k and will be rounding out the year with a December 5k. Due to an old injury rearing it’s ugly little head, I wasn’t able to get the mileage in that I had planned. However, I will complete my goal of one race per month and I’m thankful for that. details_42470193e8cca844b453108b708484ce7eb3a2e6

If we were having coffee …. I’d tell you how much I am currently enjoying not working! With our recent move, I’ve had the opportunity to work part-time from home through the end of the year and can I just say how much I am enjoying not having to be somewhere at a particular time?!? I am enjoying being able to take my time sipping my morning coffee, watching the news and getting my workouts in without being tied to the clock. I haven’t had this kind of freedom since my kids were little. I was a “stay-at-home” Mom for years and while I enjoyed those years more than anything, I was ready to get back to the work-force outside of the home once they were all in school. I really do love the satisfaction of feeling like a productive member of society and bringing home a paycheck; however, this move has left me exhausted and drained of all energy. (I really am feeling my old age these days!) So, it has been really nice having a little break from the demands of a 9-6 job for a short time, allowing me time to spend with the college boy coming home for the holidays,  helping to get the 21 year old set up in his own apartment and spending some special time with the 15 year old. It’s a much needed break from “reality”; however, I have a suspicion I will be more than ready to get back to a real job shortly after the first of the year!

If we were having coffee …. I’d tell you how excited I am about my upcoming ” 50th birthday getaway” with the hubby to the beautiful, historic city of Savannah Georgia! We will be ringing in the New Year (yes, I’m a New Years baby) with a fireworks show overlooking the Savannah river with a twist to the traditional “ball drop”….. stay tuned!sem86953

If we were having coffee ….. I’d love to share with you all of my running and racing plans for 2017, if I had any. The first thing on my agenda, besides somehow getting through the half marathon in January that I signed up for on a whim, is to make an appointment with an orthopedist to find out exactly what the deal is with my ankle. I also want to train and complete a 50 mile cycling race and even if my running still isn’t up to par, I’m sure I can sneak in at least one or two duathlons as well. Who knows what the new year holds, but one thing is certain …. I will be grateful for whatever this 50 year old body does for me!

If we were having coffee, what would you tell me…..? What are your New Year’s plans/traditions? Anyone else find the magic of Christmas dissipates as your children grow up?  Anyone else’s 2016 race goals get derailed?

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one cup of coffee at a time!

 

11 thoughts on “The Ultimate Coffee Date: Fa-la-la-la-la

  1. Happy 50th birthday upcoming and how exciting that you are a New Year’s baby!!! Savannah is one of my VERY favorite cities so I know you are going to have an amazing time there. Congratulations on being able to complete your goal of running a race every month for the entire year – that is quite an accomplishment!!! Hurray for not working right now, too – I am very envious! I wish your ankle a speedy recovery and hope you can get some answers soon!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A race a month..what a great goal…congrats on that!

    Yeah Happy New Year/Happy Birthday! I hope you have fun in Savannah…that sounds great!

    My kiddies are still young (8/6) so I will hold on to their joy for a little while longer.

    Like

  3. Karen @ Fit in France says:

    Wow, lots going on ! I had made a race a month ledge for 2016 and didn’t do it. It just didn’t fit into my marathon training. For 2017 I will do some shorter races, for the moment 2 are on my schedule for February.
    I have a job where I can work from home a day or 2 a week and it has changed my life. Avoiding traffic, not having to rush in the morning, being able to workout at a different time… I am loving it. Enjoy your holidays !

    Like

  4. What a cool way to celebrate this year in Savannah! We got the chance last year to stop by for the afternoon, which was by no means long enough to do anything! But it did make me want to plan another visit!
    You’ve really accomplished a lot this year even with the cut back on your running. You did some fun races. I will say I have missed you in the gym and especially on leg day!

    Like

Share your thoughts

