This Weeks Gallivantin’: ISO New Gym

December is upon us and another week bites the dust! As if this year hasn’t flown by fast enough; this move is really bringing an end to 2016 even quicker. Just when I’m beginning to feel as if we are getting settled, the holidays arrive …bringing all of the excitement, hustle and bustle of the season along with them. (More on this and my plans for New Years Eve can be found on my Ultimate Coffee Date post; if you missed it go check it out!)

Even though I’m working from home these days, I’m helping my oldest son find employment and trying to get him set up in his own apartment which is proving to be a little more time-consuming than it probably should be. Therefore, I’m still finding it difficult to find a workout routine and find myself going several days without working out. But in the whole scheme of things, I am enjoying this special one on one time we’ve been spending together and know that there will be plenty of time for exercise. (Besides, if I’d just get my tail up early enough, there’d be no excuses for not getting it in …I just really am more of a mid morning exerciser!) Enough with the excuses …here’s how my week played out:

Monday:  Rest

Tuesday: 3 mile run with Chester20161130_090226

Wednesday: Full body strength training, 20 min StairMill, 10 min stationary bike

Thursday: 1 mile walk with Chester

Friday: 20 min HIIT

Saturday: planned on a trail ride on the mountain bike but since it rained all day, we ate Mexican instead 😦

I’m definitely riding the struggle bus with my workouts these days! The hubs and I have been on a quest for a new gym. We spent Monday evening visiting several gyms in the area, all of which had different features we liked. We toured one facility which had both an indoor and outdoor pool, tennis courts and smoothie bar! It was quite impressive and also came with a very impressive price …$175 per month for two people!! Insane! We smiled, said “thank you” and eased right on out the door. Next up was Planet Fitness, which compared to the previous gym, had a welcome membership price of $10 per person! However; by the time we had completed the tour, I’m pretty sure the hubs had mumbled under his breath “there’s a lot of purple in here” at least half a dozen times and I had to agree …just don’t think I could deal with that much purple while working out. I will admit that their “judgement free zone” pledge intrigues me. I mean, just because you plaster the words across the walls of a gym doesn’t make it so …does it? Besides, like it or not, it happens everywhere, not just in gyms. In my own experience, more often than not, the judgement one feels comes from their own insecurities rather than from others ….rather than letting that keep you from going to a gym, use it push yourself beyond your comfort zone and strive to be the best version of you!

16-df911094-01cd-4b54-93bb-1998a1fa52a4

Too much purple and gold!

Out of the four gyms we toured, surprisingly, only one of them offered a free visit so that we could try it out before making a commitment. Wednesday evening, we took them up on their offer and gave it a try. I loved that they have a couple of StairMills, something our old gym didn’t have and I’ve really been wanting to try it out. So after a 45 minute full body strength workout, we hit the cardio machines. The hubby hit the treadmill and I climbed aboard the StairMill, chose a program which took me on a climb through Yosemite National Park and began climbing. Within 10 minutes, I realized that I was sweating to a greater degree than I normally do 10 minutes into my usual cardio workouts and by the time I had reached 15 minutes, I was really getting winded. I was determined to make it to 20 minutes, which I did …drenched in sweat and legs like noodles. I followed this with a 10 minute bike ride to shake out the wobbly legs. I think I like this. Must do more.I was surprised at how an hour on the elliptical can barely break a sweat, yet only 20 minutes on this machine kicked my tail! Although we haven’t signed the dotted line on any gym yet, we’re leaning towards this one as they also have quite a few group fitness classes which are included in the membership as well. 20161130_184540

I’m anxious to get signed up and settled back into a gym routine …will be needing a place to go burn off all of the holiday goodies I will be consuming the next few weeks! There is also an Orange Theory nearby, which I am both anxious and scared as heck to try out! I’ve heard horror stories about how difficult those sessions can be. There is also a Pure Barre studio in the area I’d like to try as well. As I write this, I am convicted that with so many options of places to workout, including the spin bike in my house and tractor tire in my back yard, I really have no excuses for not getting my workouts in. It’s just a matter of priority. It seems as though every week I find myself saying this same thing …maybe next week will be better!

Other than gym shopping, I have been able to get a little Christmas decorating done around the house and will be getting the Bird family Christmas tree on Monday. The college boy will be home for the holidays on Friday and we will celebrate the eldest 21st birthday. With all of the stress of this move and the frustration of my nagging little ankle injury, one thing that I am most thankful for and looking forward to is spending precious time with my family …there really is nothing more important or satisfying!

…and that’s a wrap! Tell me about your week, I’d love to hear from you.

Any advice on Orange Theory and/or Pure Barre?

Any Planet Fitness fans out there? Do you love a good StairMill workout?

Are you ready for the holidays? College kids coming home? 

As always, I’m linking up with Tricia and Holly for their Weekly Wrap, so hop on over and check out their posts …the two of them and several others have had quite an adventurous weekend in Panama City Beach that you won’t want to miss!weeklywrap

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one week at a time!

21 thoughts on “This Weeks Gallivantin’: ISO New Gym

  1. I haven’t been to a gym in years! I agree with you the judgments at gyms are more internal and self-imposed, which is possibly why I prefer working out at home. That at the cost. LOL.

    Like

  2. Karen @ Fit in France says:

    They don’t have Pure Barre here but it has always intrigued me. Orange Theory doesn’t interest me at all. And I agree the purple is a bit overwhelming.
    The end of your year has been crazy. A move is such a huge thing. I am sure you will settle into a routine soon enough. In the meantime, enjoy time with your son.

    Like

  3. I would be lost in a quest for a gym. I’ve never had a membership anywhere other than a brief stint almost 20 years ago….when I went to maybe three aerobics classes..with steps! (do they still do step aerobics??)

    Like

  4. heidicmck says:

    I’ve done Pure Barre. It’s a great supplement to cardio when you need something to motivate you. Your legs will feel it the first few times!

    Like

  5. OMG your right about the pricey gym, I mean for that dang price it should workout for you right? You do have to try the barre class! I mean everyone is talking about it! I think I’d love OT just because of all the stats it provides. You’ll have to let us know if you try them!
    I really have missed you at the gym, I missed chatting with you on the way in and out even if I didn’t see you during the workout. Since I haven’t been home on the weekends to run, it hasn’t hit me yet missing you on our Saturday morning runs.
    But I know it will! Oh well, just going to have to keep I-20 hot!

    Like

  6. I have never heard of Orange Theory- we just have our YMCA which is nice and super affordable for families- If it was just me alone, I’d probably be in the same boat- I hate the purple too! It is important that a place be appealing if you plan on spending some considerable time there!

    Like

  7. We still have a family YMCA membership. There are many to choose from in the city and some are quite new with all the fancy-smancy machines. Do I go? No. 😉 Ok — that purple would get on my nerves too! The college boy was home Thanksgiving week and will be back some time next week. I can’t wait!!! I was really late reading your last week’s wrap so your comments were closed. I was so happy to hear your were able to run the turkey trot pain free! Thanks for linking, Teresa!

    Like

  8. Whew! $175 – I’d expect them to make me dinner when I was done lol
    I work out at PF because it is fairly close and the $ is right. The gyms here with pools are too much. I just got a purple shirt to match LOL why not 🙂
    I am on the struggle bus too, every time I run I get so sore…because I have been recovering so slow from my marathon. I keep trying hoping things will click soon.
    It sounds like you will have a great holiday with family home!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

