2017 Goals: Ready, Set, Go!

With a brand new year upon us, everyone talks about those infamous resolutions. You know, those big promises we make to ourselves on January 1st and usually have broken all of them by the end of the month!

Today’s Tuesday on the Run topic is all about our 2017 goals and resolutions. Please be sure to stop by the hostesses, Marcia, Erika and Patty‘s, blogs and read all about their plans for the new year. Who knows, you just may be inspired to make a few resolutions and set some goals for yourself! I’m also linking up with the fabulous Running on Happy and Fairytales and Fitness for their Friday Five 2.0 link where they’ll be talking about goals as well!

 

Not to sound pessimistic, but I did manage a gym and experience proved that gym memberships shot through the roof in January and took a nose dive in March. In order to understand why this happens, I think we need to differentiate between resolutions and goals. We often times use these terms interchangeably, but they are not the same.

A resolution is a decision to strive to live differently every day. Each day we try to live up to the resolution that we set for ourselves. Some days we succeed and other days we fail. But here’s the good news…. every day is a clean slate, a do-over, a fresh start. A resolution never ends, it is a daily challenge.

A goal is a specific achievement we set for ourselves and usually always has a time restraint or an end. Goals are great in building confidence and keeping us motivated; however, it can also bring disappointment and discouragement if we do not achieve the goals we set for ourselves.

Therefore, we set goals in order to give us stepping-stones that will help us stay motivated to maintain our resolutions. In my opinion, one can have goals without a resolution but without goals, most resolutions are doomed to fail.

Now that we’ve gotten our vocabulary lesson for the day out of the way ….on to what this post is really about:bitmoji-334261643-1

Because I made a resolution ten years ago to lose weight, start exercising, eat healthier and be a better me, I generally only set goals each year. Maybe I should take a deeper look at my life to see if another resolution is in order …hmmm, I’ll continue to ponder that one. In the meantime, here are my goals for 2017:

Fitness Goals:

  1. Lose Weight – I’ll just go ahead and get this one out of the way. Yes, it’s only a few pounds, but they’re just as unwelcome as 20+ would be. I’d like to get back to my “pre-menopause” weight which would require me lose about 8 pounds (all of which seem to be in my belly and hips …dang you Mother Nature!)

    funny-weight-loss-meme-image-quote

    True story…

  2. Lift More Weight – I’m fairly good about getting to gym several times a week for some weightlifting. However, I need to work on a more timely schedule so that I can get stronger. I find that I’m lifting about the same amount of weight every year because inevitably, life gets in the way, and I end up falling off the “weight wagon”. And if you’ve ever done that before, you know that the first day back in the gym after falling off that wagon has you lifting those little baby weights all over again. I’m writing down on paper the amounts of weights I’m lifting right now and plan to be lifting significantly heavier by the end of the year. Watch out Chuck Norris! 🙂
  3. Push-Ups – This one I’ve struggled with off and on for a couple of years now. I always say that I’m going to work on this and get better at doing these …and I always quit. They are just so dang hard! I can knock out “girly push-ups” all day long, but can barely squeeze 5 “real” ones out at one time.(I know, I’m a weakling!) So, this year I WILL  work on this goal and hope to be able to do 20-25 real push-ups at one by the end of the year.
  4. Yoga – Confession time …I’ve only gone to one Yoga class in my life. I know, right? I actually really enjoyed it, aside from the zero-dark thirty start time! So why didn’t I go back?yoga-for-wine-lovers Well, I sucked at it. I tend to shy away from things I suck at. However, I know that I need the stretching, the meditation and stress relief. So, I’m going to make more of an effort to include a little Yoga throughout this year and see where it goes from there. If you know of any classes like this one, please let me know …I’m thinking it will limber me up for some of those crazy poses that most 50 year olds haven’t been able to get into in years!
  5. Run 50 Miles per Month – There’s that fabulous 50 number again …it just keeps popping up! Well, what else could I do? This is the only year that I will be 50, so I must have some fun with it! Seriously though, I’d like to be able to set some sort of goal such as 50 races this year but with my injury and recent diagnosis, it’s just not feasible. While I love a good challenge and enjoy pushing myself, I have to keep my goals attainable. There was a time in my life when 50 miles a month was considered a low mileage month, and I may see that time again, but this is not that time. So for now, I will accept this challenge and be proud if I achieve it.

Personal & Relationship Goals:

  1. Read a Book per Month – This one is really important to me.51ftojyv2l I’ve always read magazines but never been an avid book reader. It is hard for me to focus long enough to read for hours at a time and to be honest, it usually makes me sleepy. (could be the wine I like to sip on while reading!)  I truly enjoy the stories books have to offer, just not the actual reading …I should probably listen to audio books while running, but I want to do this the old-fashioned way, no audio book, no Kindle, Nook or tablet …just me, my reading glasses and a good old hard back book. I’m starting January off with this one that the hubby gave me for Christmas because I love their HGTV show. Wish me luck!
  2. One on One Time with my Boys – As my boys are getting older and growing up, I really want to make more of an effort to have some one-on-one time with each of them monthly. Between their busy schedules, desire to spend most of their time with friends and my own life, it’s easy to let too much time pass without spending quality time with our older children. Recently, I drove my youngest son back to the town we just moved from so that he could spend a few days with his friends and let me tell you …I found out more about what is going on in his life, what his latest taste in music is, a few of his fears and even talked a little politics in just that hour and a half drive. It was wonderful and we all need more moments like that.

And there it is …written in stone, so to speak. It certainly does make it more real, doesn’t it? Accountability to one another and to ourselves, that is what this whole blogging thing is all about, right?

Thanks for stopping by and reading! I’m anxious to peek into your hearts and minds to find out all about your goals and resolutions for the new year as well. May we all grow in strength, wisdom and fortitude as we strive to achieve all that we set before us.

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one goal at a time!

28 thoughts on “2017 Goals: Ready, Set, Go!

  1. OMG belly fat be damned! Ugh! I am so right there with you and I hate it. Back in the day I’d read book after book but now? I can polish off mags like a boss but books? Not so much. Cheers to a great 2017!

    Like

  2. Ah yes the belly fat – just no words…I just want it gone! LOL!

    I keep saying I’m going to get back to reading – it’s been ages since I picked up a book!

    And I love your goal to spend more one on one time with your boys – so important!

    Here’s to a great 2017!!

    Like

  3. You know I’ve been waiting on this post an it did not disappoint! I think 50 miles is going to a challenge especially during the months it’s hot. Don’t get me started on push ups I suck at them too. We should make it our pact to be accountable on this want too? Lordy I hope Tammy doesn’t see this lol 😁

    Like

  4. Push-ups are HARD. Plain and simple. I can do about 10 “quality” ones…then it’s sorta down hill LOL I try to do 30 each day…just to get ’em done. And yoga? It never gets easier…the better one gets at doing the poses, the longer & deeper you hold them…and the burn STILL hurts…just saying 😉

    Like

  5. Well you look pretty fabulous but i feel ya on those pounds around the middle. I carry quite a bit extra and I have had very little success for about 6 years now losing them. I get them off but i have go so low calorie wise, they always find me again. SO I tried lifting heavier and then I always hurt something in my shoulder..see where this is going LOL I have been fearful to make big goals for this year so i am easing in. You have some good ones though!!

    Like

  6. milebymileblog1 says:

    These are great goals! I set a goal to read 1 book per month in 2015. I was able to do it but totally fell off track last year.

    Like

  7. These are great goals! I can FINALLY do 10 nose-ALMOST-to-the-floor pushups. It was hard to get there. And I’m still trying to get my nose to the ground. #goals

    Like

  8. Yoga is amazing and you should definitely go back. 🙂 For years, I avoided it because I thought it would be boring or not enough movement for me. But it turns out, I absolutely love it. My preferred type is Vinyasa. I’m also a fan of Bodyflow classes, which incorporate yoga at Tai Chi. I’m not a huge fan of Bikram. Good luck with all of your goals this year!

    Like

Share your thoughts

