This Weeks Gallivantin’: A Wrap on January

This Weeks Gallivantin’ brings us to the end of not only this week, but my birthday month as well …wasn’t it just Thanksgiving a few weeks ago? Anyway, it’s been a great start to the new year and so far, 50 is feeling pretty fabulous! My workouts are still a little scattered and all over the place and I just can’t seem to get back into a routine …hopefully that will come soon. Speaking of workouts, let’s see how I did this week:

  • Sunday: 40 minutes Powermill
  • Monday: 13.1 mile run
  • Tuesday: Rest
  • Wednesday: 3 mile run
  • Thursday: 9 mile bike ride
  • Friday: 45 minutes elliptical
  • Saturday: Rest

Not a bad week for cardio but I did no weight training whatsoever, and I missed it. I really enjoy do my weight workouts with Major Hubs and his work schedule has been crazy lately …we gotta hit it hard in February!  However, it hasn’t been all a loss since I am happy to report that I have managed to lose 3 of those holiday pounds that found me…even after eating an entire pint of Halo Top birthday cake flavored ice cream for supper one night! (Well, it is still my birthday month, you know!)

halo-top-healthy-cake-batter-ice-cream

I might be slightly obsessed with this stuff!

As you all know, my January half marathon was cancelled due to an unusual and somewhat unexpected ice storm. The race director offered a virtual race option for those that wanted to “officially” post a time and feel like they actually earned their medal and race swag. I woke up Monday morning and decided I would just go out and run 13.1 and get it over with. Not the brightest idea and certainly was the hardest 13 I’ve ever run, but I did it and now I can wear that jacket with honor. The hubs was so impressed and felt just a tad bit of spouse pressure, so he bit the bullet and ran his 13 Thursday evening …most of it in the dark! He’s a tough old bird! I started out with the grand idea that I would ride my bike alongside him and be his “water station”,  but when one of the dogs got out AGAIN, I had to cut my ride short. But hey, it’s all good …he got his 13 in and I managed to get in a few on the bike to round out our day.

Speaking of biking ….Holly (HoHoRuns) and I are in the early stages of choosing a cycling “event” to participate in. There really are no races when it comes to cycling ..it’s just a matter of finishing. We’re looking at one of these cycling events in the great state of Alabama. If anyone else is interested in cycling and would like to take one of these on with us, let us know…the more the merrier!  We’re thinking, quite ambitiously, at tackling either the metric century or the century ride …I don’t know about Holly, but as for me, 40 miles is the longest I’ve ever ridden consecutively ..not sure my tush and shoulders can handle 100!2017_flyer_high_res

In other racing news …I’m considering my 13.1 virtual half as my January race since it was actually a real event. I’m currently looking for a February race and have my eyes on two 10k’s coming up in the next couple of months. The Run thru History 10k is an extremely challenging 6 miles run entirely within the Vicksburg National Military Park. How many opportunities do you get to run the hills where Civil War battles were actually fought! This will be the 38th running of this race in my historic hometown of Vicksburg, Ms and I’m anxious to take on those hills again! I’m also interested in running the Azalea Trail Run 10k in Mobile, Alabama, which is told to be fast, flat and beautiful as the streets are lined with pink and white azaleas in full bloom on race day. I also have my eye on a few half marathons as well later in the year but will have to wait and see how our schedules play out. For now, I’m focusing on shorter distance races while slowly building my mileage back up. The old ankle has been fairly quiet as of late and I’d like to keep it that way!

…and that’s a wrap for this week and for January 2017! I’ve got a few more miles to get in over the next couple of days in order to reach my 50 miles of running per month goal which I set to honor my 50th trip around the sun. Soooo, guess you all know what I’ll be doing in the morning for #nevermissamonday!

I’m linking up with our hostesses with the mostesses, Holly and Tricia for their Weekly Wrap linkup. Please do stop by and pay them a visit along with some of the other fabulously inspiring women who linkup ..you are sure to find a friend or two!weeklywrap

 

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one pint of ice cream at a time!

13 thoughts on “This Weeks Gallivantin’: A Wrap on January

  1. That still cracks me up about you and the hubby getting those virtual 13.1’s knocked out last week…but I would totally do the same. Yay, another #nevermissaMonday chick 😉 We have our own little exclusive club!

    Like

  2. I bet you & Holly will have a blast. I am not a biker chick. 🙂

    And really gutsy of both you AND your husband fninishing that half “virtually” (there is not virtual about 13.1 miles & I, personally, have never run it without a race atmosphere — that’s hard!).

    Like

  3. Kudos for running that half on your own. You definitely earned your swag. I’ve done the Azalea Trail 5k (and even placed — I think most peeps do the 10k). I love running in Mobile. But, I can honestly say I don’t remember any azaleas at that race. I guess it’s iffy depending on weather. My longest ride is 65 miles. So, I guess I’ve actually done the metric century distance? The thing that’s hardest to wrap my brain around is if we did 100 miles, wouldn’t it take ALL DAY? I’d have to really pace myself to get it done. Thanks for linking, Teresa!

    Like

    • Wow! Impressive Holly …you have done a metric century then! Yes, I do believe it would be an all day ride especially with all the stops they provide for food, bathroom and such. My shoulders and neck start aching after 25ish, 100 may kill me😉 I really don’t have a good place to ride in my new town in order to train. If we do this, I’ll probably have to purchase a trainer to put my bike on in order to practice being on the bike that long.

      Like

Share your thoughts

