This Week’s Gallivantin’: For the Love of Fitness

Ahhh February …the month of Love !  The month of candy, heart shaped boxes, flowers, jewelry, teddy bears, conversation hearts and romance ….Valentine’s Day! Don’t you just love it? Well, it doesn’t have to be just about couples and romance you know. Think of it as the month to show others how much you care …about their health and fitness. Share with them your love of running, cycling, yoga, etc… Whatever it is that you love to do, make it a point this month to reach out to someone ….a friend, coworker, spouse, child, relative and invite them to a class with you, to the gym or out for a slow jog/walk. Whatever it takes to get someone else motivated to make a change for the better and begin their fitness journey, that’s what it’s all about, right? Sharing the love …our love of health and fitness.

My February goal will be to workout at least twice a week with Major Hubs and to encourage at least one person not already engaged in an active lifestyle to do so.  You know the old saying … “Birds of the same feather flock together”….and it’s certainly true. It’s so easy for us to reach out to other runners and fitness enthusiasts because we all have at least that one thing in common. So, with that in mind, let’s be mindful to broaden our circle and bring others in the world of fitness which we all love so much.

Without further adieu ….here’s how my week of workouts played out.

Monday: 6 miles! Whoop whoop! I hit the pavement early in the morning for 3 negative splits miles then went to the gym with Major Hubs in the evening for some weight lifting and another 3 miles on the Zero Gravity Runner20170130_193223Tuesday: After a heart thumping, quad burning Spin class I took advantage of Mother Nature’s little hot flash she was having and took the kayak out on the water for a little relaxation and arm workout

Wednesday: The plan was for Major Hubs and I to go back to the gym in the evening for more weight lifting …but it was just too pretty of a day not to get some outdoor miles in. So we hit the trails for 4 rather speedy (in my book) miles with Chester boy. I could tell that I had pushed my pace on that one because my glutes were sore the next day….that’s a good sore!

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 30 minutes on the Stairmill with this little butt burning workout …I would highly recommend it if you have access to a stairmill4ec6fd6b63f5015157a19874a0d71cd6

Saturday: Once it warmed up a bit …mid 50’s…. I headed out to get a brick workout in. I’d been planning this all week for a couple of reasons. One, I feel sure I will do at least one, if not two, duathlons this year and second, if I’m going to take on this metric century/century ride with Holly this year, I need to get some bike miles in. The problem is that in our new town, there really isn’t a great place to ride a road bike where I feel fairly safe…the traffic here is pretty heavy. I’ve read multiple threads where many people training for Ironman races will do a lot of their cycling miles on their mountain bikes because it tires the legs sooner than road bikes ….hence just as good of a leg workout in fewer miles. With that in mind, I decided on Run 2, Bike 6, Run 2, Bike 6 and Run 1 ….not a bad workout with the running off the bike being the challenging part. I will definitely add more of these into my workouts this spring and summer.img_20170204_153227_498

On another note… thank you Darlene for getting me hooked on this brand of yogurt …I may have a slight addiction! It seriously is quite delicious…. nom, nom!20170203_073403

….and that’s a wrap! Time to go as I hear there’s some sort of football game coming on tonight???  Are you ready for some football?!?Screen-Shot-2017-02-03-at-12.03.08-PM-1024x576.png

Or are you more interested in the half time show and commercials?lady-gaga-superbowl-51

 

As usual I’m linking up with Tricia and Holly for their Weekly Wrap link up. Be sure to visit their blogs and the others to see what fun and interesting things they are up to …you will certainly be inspired and encouraged!               * Go Falcons! *weeklywrap

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one workout at a time!

28 thoughts on “This Week’s Gallivantin’: For the Love of Fitness

  1. Mid 50’s sounds like summer to me about now! I took the Falcons because everyone else here went with the Patriots. Kind of in shock with the way it’s going although now in the 4th quarter we may have a game…
    Truly I only care about halftime and the commercials…which seem rather lame so far.

    Like

  2. I love the top you have on in that first picture! You go girl with that brick workout! It is so difficult to run after cycling. I’ve always just tacked a few miles onto a long ride but I’ve also never done a Du requiring run/bike/run. There is one at Callaway Gardens in May that I’d love to do though. That would be a long drive for you, huh? Thanks for linking, Teresa.

    Like

  3. Such a great idea to sharing our love of fitness with those not already in an active lifestyle. A little out of my comfort zone, I definitely tend to stick with those who are already active.

    Great workouts last week! Sounds like you had some great weather, too.

    Oh yeah, and Noosa is delicious, isn’t it?

    Like

  4. MB Jackson says:

    Glad to see I wasn’t the only one who took advantage of some sunshine! Great week for you and Major Hubs! I love your idea of sharing your fitness, I share all the idea- I think most people just think I am crazy but you never know when that one will make a change! Have a great week!

    Like

  5. Noosa is really good (unfortunately it has more sugar than I usually want in my yogurt — which is part of why it’s sooooo good). But that’s me.

    I’m so envious of all that sun and kayaking . . . I miss sun, I hate layers right about now . . .

    Sounds like you’re kicking some booty (including your own!).

    Because we’ve only lived here about 8 years, almost all my friends are into fitness — often running — because that’s how I meet people!

    Like

  6. I love this message of encouraging others to live an active life. Exactly why we post our workouts and the fun we have a races and such! It doesn’t have to be all hard! We are headed back to the campground and seeing your picture again in the kayak reminds me I’ve got to bring mine!

    Like

Share your thoughts

