February Runfessions

Happy Friday everyone! As February comes to a close with March just around the corner, spring is already in the air! Like many of you, Mother Nature has been showering us with lots of beautiful sunshine and some pretty fabulous temps….instant mood changer, right? Before we get this fabulous weekend started, let’s take care of a little housekeeping by getting all of those “runfessions” off our chests.

I runfess ….

One of my goals for 2017 was to incorporate Yoga into my workout routine …it’s almost March and I must admit that I’ve only done two 20 minute videos. What is wrong with me? I just can’t get into the Yoga groove …well, the truth is I have a difficult time getting into many of the positions, therefore; I can’t get into the Yoga groove. I’ll keep trying but I’m afraid it’s just not my ‘thing’.1a64589eb115cf8953851d3eead630f5

I runfess….

The hubs and I tried a new class at our gym the other night called Triple Threat …and I’m pretty sure it was named such because the instructors goal was to either make you puke, pass out or die. It was a 45 minute circuit HIIT class with four different stations. Each station had a piece of paper with 6 different exercises on it. You had to roll a dice and do the exercise that corresponded to that number. Soooo …while at the second station, first roll of the dice …bam! burpees ..with push ups! Yep, and the word pushups was underlined. 20 of those suckers. Well, I runfess that after 5 of them, I eliminated the push up portion and after 10, I stopped and just watched the others in my group continue to torture themselves. A few minutes later, after three other exercises were completed, the next roll of the dice turned up BURPEES again! I confess that I just looked at the other in my group and said “No, we’re not doing those again. Roll that dice again”. Β It was a great workout, with a lot of sweating, moaning and cursing …we’ll definitely go back but I refuse to do those dang burpees!380fb526fd3cab2c8339591755c879f1

I runfess…

One of my biggest gym pet peeves are those guys meatheads who obviously do zero cardio, focus only on arms, shoulders and chest and spend more time sitting on the equipment, talking loudly, looking around to see who all is paying attention to them than they do actually working out. You know the ones …they usually are wearing a lifting belt which sits just below their big belly. They can usually always be heard giving others either unsolicited advice or incorrect instruction on how to properly perform a particular move. They’re never alone, having at least one to two side kicks who serve as ego-strokers. Yep, there’s one in every gym and it didn’t take long for me to peg the one in my new gym. He’s always there in the evenings when Major Hubs and I workout together. The hubs told me the other day that I wasn’t doing a very good job of hiding the fact that he and his posse were annoying me. I runfess that I wasn’t trying.508e5698728f4778b2e5862e77abfbd4

And that’s a wrap on this month’s Runfessions. runfessionsWhew, I feel so much better! How about you? Do you have anything you need to runfess? Do you hate burpees as much as I do? I’m linking up withΒ MarciaΒ for theΒ RunfessionsΒ link-up. Be sure to stop by and see what other ‘sole-cleansing’ runfessions are being laid to rest and add a few of your own.

Have a wonderful weekend! Namaste.

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one runfession at a time!

 

28 thoughts on “February Runfessions

  1. OMG that top pic! I’m dying! Those meatheads almost always have toothpick legs too. Because I guess working legs is as much fun as cardio. I kind of love that you’re a burpee cheater. Drawing them twice in a row is just plain wrong. The class is clearly flawed…just saying. Thanks for linking!

    Like

  2. Darlene says:

    I mean to do a yoga class. I know it’s good for you but i just haven’t.No excuses. I have never a burpee but then again I can’t do a push up I don’t think. I wouldn’t have lasted long in that class. Kudos to you!

    Like

  3. I often skip the pushup portion (although I do do pushups!), but I’ll do the burpees. It’s good for you. hard though!

    Love yoga. Maybe try doing some shorter practices? Many of mine are only 5 or 10 minutes. And that’s why they call it a practice — you have to practice to get better!

    Like

  4. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    I once got some unsolicited advice from a guy in the gym….so annoying. I would’ve acted the same way!

    The HIIT workout sounds intense! I don’t despite burpees but I don’t think I’d want to do 2 sets in a row!

    Like

Share your thoughts

