This Week’s Gallivantin’: March Madness

Happy Monday all! I missed last week’s Weekly Wrap due to the fact that I just had too much going on and not enough working out! It was a two funerals and two visits to my Mom at the hospital kind of week which honestly just left me emotionally drained and not in the mood to recap a week of exercise. However, there were some highlights of that week which included a much needed lunch with my sister, a great 10k race (here’s the recap if you missed it), lunch with the college boy and a chance to see Major Hubs do what he does best. It’s all good and my Mom is home and on the mend. This week has been a much better workout week so let’s get right to the meat of it.Weekly (1)

As you can see, I’m still keeping my running  miles down as I try to adjust to these darn orthotics. I’d love nothing more than to be all positive here and say that it’s going great…but it’s not. These suckers hurt and rub a blister in the arch of my foot after about 2.5 miles. So that really makes the thought of running 13.1 miles with them about as pleasant as having a bikini wax. I know, I know ….be patient, I’ll get there.

On another, more pleasant note, I’ve really been enjoying these HIIT workouts. On Mondays, the hubs and I do one at home, old school style …with the tractor tire and all, then on Wednesdays we hit the gym for their Triple Threat HIIT class. These types of workouts are extremely effective and also humbling…as they are quick to point out where your weaknesses are. The hubs actually put together our first home HIIT workout which included my arch nemisis …burpees.

  • Half mile sprint, 1 min push ups, 1 min squats, 1 min sledgehammer on tire
  • Half mile sprint, 1 min burpees, 1 min lunge walk, 1 min tire flips
  • Half mile sprint, 1 min mtn climbers, 1 min high knees, 1 min tire step ups
  • Half mile sprint, 1 min plank, 1 min sit ups, 1 min wall sit

I’ll be doing this week’s workout and I can assure you there will be no burpees!

I did two 30 minute hip and leg stretch Yoga sessions and while I can’t say that I’m “hooked on Yoga” yet, I can say that I do appreciate the “hurts so good” aspect of it.

Question for all of you running coaches …are freshly stretched hammies more prone to strains? During the last mile of Saturday’s tempo run, I felt a twinge in my right hamstring. No pain though. It just likes to make its presence known every now and then while bending. I’ve taken it to the foam roller several times and wondering if I should continue with the stretches or give it a rest….

Friday was a beautiful day to take the ‘flying purple people eater’ (the mtn bike) out for an exploration ride. The hubs and I have explored one leg of the multi-use trail near our house so I thought I’d ride the other leg to see how far it is to the reservoir overlook.

20170310_16311120170310_160940

It was right at 8 miles to the overlook and back with an optional additional 1 mile loop. I’m thinking this will be a perfect long run option for half marathon training. Speaking of….. training for Utah Valley officially begins this week! Eeek!  Have you signed up yet? It’s not too late and there are many bloggers in this link who have discounts for registration fees …don’t miss out on this one!061111_Utah Valley Marathon

 

….and that’s a wrap! WeeklyWrapDo stop by and visit our fabulous hostesses Holly and Tricia to see what shenanigans they were up to in Montgomery this weekend!

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one week at a time!

24 thoughts on “This Week’s Gallivantin’: March Madness

  1. Dang I missed the comments on Vicksburg recap! So I’ll just post it here nah!

    Brings back memories of the tour Greg and took there years ago. It was our first real trip alone too. I remember the Illinois monument it was quite neat inside too! I wasn’t a runner then but I remember those hills! There is so much history here! I didn’t know Stetson ran this! Ha he is sporting his hat too! You really do get a lot with only a $25 entry!

    Like

    • How cool that you and Greg went there for yalls first trip. That’s also where Jason proposed to me …sitting on the bluff of Fort Hill overlooking the Mississippi River at sunset. So romantic!😉

      Like

  2. That trail sounds perfect for both long runs and bike rides. Can you hit it from your house or do you have to drive to get on it? I sure wish I had more options around here for runs.
    Boo on your orthos still giving you problems, I sure hope they work out and soon! Headed over to check out the recap I no doubt missed. 🙂

    Like

  3. Your bike selfie is awesome!! I’m happy you found a nice trail to ride. I’m going to shamelessly hang back and let you be the orthotics ginuea pig. They’ve been suggested to me but I’ve heard so many unpleasant stories. I hope you end up with a positive one! I think I’ll start officially training for Utah on April 1. I’d really like to take advantage of the downhill course and post a great time. Alas…we shall see.

    Like

    • You know, I have had orthotics before and had no major problems adjusting to them. This is really frustrating. I think I’m going to see if they can adjust them. As to Utah… I really have no idea to train for a downhill race! Any suggestions?

      Like

  4. Oh…those orthotics sound painful! I have thought (briefly) about getting some…but I’d think they would be so un-flexible (?). I hope you have better luck getting adjusted to them

    Like

  5. As a coach with way more than her share of hamstring chaos, rest that baby. Just don’t even tempt it. They’re so ornery sometimes. You had a great week! I love that you and your hubby do the HIIT together. Definitely a great workout. That hip flexor of yours looks nice and bendy.

    Like

  6. Be careful with the hamstring because that can easily sideline you again. If you eire on the side of caution then you should be fine. Only gentle stretching. I struggled with mine in the fall when I started attacking speed work. Those orthotics don’t sound like a good fit….I’ve worn orthotics before and I quickly adjusted to them. You’ve said this for more than a week about them. A blister is not a good sign. Are you really running Utah Valley this year? Ughhhh…I am totally running a Utah race NEXT summer. With all of the strength training that you do, you will be fine on that down hill course!

    Like

  7. Well there ya go, hopefully we’ll be able to meet in RL in Ut. Yoga shouldn’t hurt. Sometimes it’s all about modifications.

    I am sorry about your mom, but glad to hear she’s on the mend. We’ve been doing the hospital dance for the last month or so — not fun at all.

    Like

  8. MB Jackson says:

    That HIIT workout sounds brutal!!! Yay for Utah! I think we have some serious squats to do to get ready! Hope you are having a better week!

    Like

Comments are closed.