Peace Be With You

It’s Tuesday afternoon and I’m just now sitting down to write my weekly recap from last week. Why, you ask? Well, the truth of the matter is that Sundays are just too hectic for us and I’m not organized enough to have it ready the Saturday before. Usually I will get it done on Monday mornings while sipping my coffee but I didn’t even take the time to write it yesterday ….I believe I have a severe case of Spring Fever and I’m loving it! It’s just too dang pretty outside to be cooped up inside on the computer. I hope you are having beautiful spring weather wherever you are and if not, I hope you see some soon!

I’m weeklywraplinking up with TriciaΒ and HollyΒ for their Weekly Wrap. Please stop by and visit them and all of the other incredible women that link up each week! I had a great week of workouts last week that looked something like this …

Weekly

Half marathon training is now in its second week and I’m taking it super easy, nothing fancy here. The name of this game is to just make it to Utah without aggravating my ankle and be able to actually complete 13.1 miles. And I’m good with that. Oh, I could go on and on about being frustrated that it’s taking so long for this injury to heal, that I’m not as fast as I used to be, that I’m a few pounds heavier than I was for my last half or I could even write an entire post about these dang orthotics …but I’m not. I have something else I’d like to share with you this week.

If you’ve been following me, you know that we recently moved to a new city in November. And like most runners would do, the first thing I did was to explore the neighborhood on foot …running, of course. On the edge of our neighborhood, there is a cul-de-sac which houses small businesses such as dentist, doctors, real estate offices. The first time I ran down that street I saw this in the cul-de-sac at the edge of the water….20170320_150713

…I noticed it and it struck me as an odd place for a funeral spray but didn’t have much more thought at the time. However, with each run I became more and more bothered by it and curious as to the circumstances behind it. I did happen to notice a small plaque on the ground with a name and dates engraved. It was a womans name and she was 35 years old at the time of her death. With every run, I would spend the remainder of the miles thinking about her, her family rather than my pace, tempo or niggles I may be feeling. I wondered did she leave children behind, a husband and parents. I would think how fortunate I was to be out there running, breathing in the crisp morning air, feeling my lungs fill with air and hearing the sound of my feet hit the pavement beneath me…fortunate to simply be alive. I would go home to my family and loved ones, I would be able to pick up the phone and call them to hear their voice and tell them that I love them. I would be able to kiss my husband when he walked through the door from work and I would be able to see my children. Blessings that I take for granted each day …blessings that we all take for granted each day. Many times we let anger, bitterness, discontentment and even jealousy cause strife between us and others. We refuse to forgive and offer grace to those that have wronged us and by doing so, we are only hurting ourselves and robbing ourselves of true contentment and peace. But sometimes, it’s ourselves that we are the hardest on, sometimes we just can’t forgive ourselves or let the past go and it sucks the joy of living right out of us. Let go of the past and reach for the future! Forgive yourself and forgive others, life is short and worth living to the fullest, free of anger and bitterness. One of my cousins wrote this the other day and I thought it was worth sharing….

We all lose our way at some point. Standing one minute, on the ground the next. We go from having options to flat being backed into a corner the next. One shoe after the other dropping….

The thing is, we dilute our potential when we fail to accept our past. Whatever it is. Good or bad.

That’s the beauty of the past… it’s over. Those who love you or who will come to love you will stand by you. So you’ve got a past, don’t we all bring things to the table? Don’t we all have demons we fight or have fought?

I’ve learned that if you love the heck out of people no matter what path they’ve walked, it drives people forward. And in turn drives you forward.

I don’t care about anyone’s past. I’ve got mine, you’ve got yours. Put those together and all I see is an ocean of wisdom.

Bring it, this world needs all our wisdom and love. Our younger generation needs to know that when everything goes south, that’s not the end. It just isn’t.

Turn the page of this old book called life. Torn pages, worn edges, broken spine. But such a good story. ❀

G’night friends

– xoxo

As to the woman who lost her life at the edge of the water in my neighborhood, though I never knew her, I thank her for bringing perspective to my morning runs and I pray for continued peace for her family.

Peace be with you!

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one blessing at a time!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on “Peace Be With You

  1. It’s pretty neat how your perspective can be so changed by something most people would never see. It’s too easy to get caught up in the routine and hustle and bustle of life. You friend has some wise words for all of us to hear.
    Sure do wish I could make Utah, 😦
    When are we going to get together? Seems like forever!

    Like

  2. MB Jackson says:

    Beautiful! Each day is a gift! I am excited you are coming to Utah and look forward to meeting you in person! That is an opportunity I plan on not wasting!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. beautiful and sad. amazing too that something that negatively impacted people’s lives (such as losing a loved one) can also bring positivity and perspective. Sometimes when I run and I listen to music, I hear a song that reminds me of people I’ve loved and lost and while I may cry I am also reminded that life is short and there are wonderful things to be appreciated.

    It’s becoming more “spring” here – and this makes me very happy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. That is sad and offers so much perspective. We are blessed with every breath. Wow it’s gorgeous there! Still in the 20’s here although they’re saying 70 for Friday. I’ve been filling the house with spring flowers. Love your attitude about getting to Utah. Can’t wait to see you!

    Like

    • It is beautiful down here and really really warm too …it’s been in the mid 80s this week. Hoping you guys will see some real springlike temps soon. I’m excited about meeting you too ..going to be so much fun!

      Like

  5. Such a lovely post. Thought provoking.
    P.S. unfortunately Spring hasn’t yet sprung here in Yorkshire, England, but the Daffs are out so I know it’s around the corner 😊X

    Like

Comments are closed.