This Week’s Gallivantin’: Spring has Sprung!

Hello again from the sunny south where Spring has definitely sprung all over the place! The grass is green, Cherry blossoms and Bradford pears are in full bloom, the sun has been shining and the temps have been soaring up in the 80’s! However, I’ve lived long enough to know that usually there is a cold snap just before Easter and that’s still a few weeks away …so I’m bracing myself. All of this beautiful weather lends itself to some fun outdoor workouts, so let’s get right to it!

Monday: Backyard HIIT workout with 2 mi run

Tuesday: 2 mi run/walk, 8 mi bike, kayaking and date night with the hubs

Wednesday: 4 mi run, weights, Triple Threat HIIT class

Thursday: Rest

Friday: 3 mi progressive run

Saturday: 6 mi run

While March was still a low mileage month, I’m feeling pretty good about half marathon training so far, although it’s still early… keeping my fingers and toes crossed. I’ve found that, in my “older age”, I really have more success by running fewer miles. It may not result in a PR, but as long as it keeps me injury free ….I’m good! It’s been a journey, but I think I’ve finally gotten to the point where I’m really “good” with not running more than three days a week and embracing the variety (and weight loss results) that cross-training provides. There was a time in my life that running 5 days per week resulted in a slim figure and faster paces. Now, that would only bring injuries and more pounds …neither of which I want or need. I mean, let’s face it …running makes you seriously hungry, and at 50 years old, your metabolism just can’t keep up with the rungries!

So, I’m easing into this half marathon training, enjoying the sunshine and life is good!

Here’s a little glimpse into how I spent the week outside of running and working out ….

 

…there was also quite a bit of blogging this weekend as well! Just in case you missed them, check out myΒ March RunfessionsΒ andΒ Ultimate Coffee Date: April EditionΒ to catch up on what else is happening in the ladybird’s life!

What’s coming up in April you ask? Well, there will be more running, at least one 10k (got it narrowed down between two), hopefully a duathlon, a weekend with the college boy, Easter (of course) Β and an anniversary for the Major and I.

Hope you have some fun and exciting things planned for this month as well! I’m linking up withΒ HollyΒ andΒ TriciaΒ for their Weekly Wrap. Be sure to visit these ladies and all some of the other bloggers linking up to see what inspiring things they’re up to these days …there’s something for everyone!weeklywrap

How are you enjoying Spring so far? Do you enjoy cross training or strictly a “runner girl”? What fun races do you have planned this month?

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one week at a time!

 

21 thoughts on “This Week’s Gallivantin’: Spring has Sprung!

  1. Darlene says:

    I agree . Injury-free is the way to go. I DNSed on a race today just for that reason.

    I’ll let you know about spring when it arrives.LOL

    Like

  2. I’m glad spring has sprung for you because we’ve got snow in the forecast this week. Enough already. My little secret: Except for one training cycle (NYCM) when I ran 4 days per week, I’ve always run 3x/wk and it’s worked out just fine. So much to be said for strength/cross training!

    Like

  3. I agree with you about the running too much! I’ve finally found my sweet spot I think with training. 4 days per week running and 1 day cross training. That seems to be the ticket. This has been my first training cycle not injured! Good luck with your upcoming race and Happy Anniversary!

    Like

  4. I am so with you on the less-is-more concept regarding mileage (and days per week). I have never run more than 4 days’week (other than my recent Route 66 training, and that I had a coach holding my hand through most of it LOL). I’m just too paranoid about injury, and I do not think the increased mileage guarantees anything other than a one-way ticket to injury.

    Like

  5. I’ve run 4 times, 5 times, crossed trained and not. Injury just seems to happen anyway, at least at the higher mileage marathon distance training. I tried to incorporate some down hills today (which means up hills too!) in prep for the Utah Half. I had a rude awakening in CO about how it feels to run at altitude (I had forgotten!). Since Utah is not as high, I hope it won’t be as bad. You had a great week of workouts. How are your inserts feeling? Thanks for linking, Teresa!

    Like

  6. In the past I have run 4x a week while training and this time around I’m only running 3x a week. I’m still getting in the same amount of mileage, but I like having that extra day to do strength training!

    Like

  7. They are actually forecasting spring-like temps for next week, but they tend to tease us with that and then it doesn’t appear.But at least the weekend’s snow all melted.

    4 days a week seems to be the sweet spot for me, but I’ve done a few halfs with just 3 days a week & done well, too.

    I do miss spring in the south (the fact that it comes so early!). But I don’t miss the southern summers. At all!

    Like

  8. Looks like a great month, even with the lower mileage!

    I used to stick pretty strictly to running, but now I’ve branched out into other disciplines. I am doing a tri in a few weeks, so swimming and biking have taken up some time. I also plan to get back into boot camp, once all our crazy travel settles down.

    Like

  9. You do amazing with your cross training! Seriously envious of everything blooming! We do not get to enjoy those seasonal blooms in Florida…my grass and plants are always fighting to survive in this heat…90 is the high today. Talk about miserable. BTW…you look beautiful in the picture with the Major!:)

    Like

Share your thoughts

