Challenges Pave the Way for Breakthrough

findingfabulousatfifty.wordpress.comHello and Happy Monday from the LadyBird’s world! It’s been a couple of weeks since I touched base with a “Weekly Wrap” and I know everyone’s just dying to know what’s been happening with my training, right?? Ahhh yes, I thought so! Before we get into the details of the past few week’s happenings, let’s see what my training looked like …

Monday: 4 mile run

Tuesday: Lunch w/Mom

Wednesday: 6 mile run 

Thursday: 16 mile bike ride …and getting caught in the rain

Friday: Rest

Saturday: Quarry Crusher 3.7 mile race

As I’m getting deeper into my half marathon training, the running miles are increasing which means less cross training, and I actually kind of miss it. No HIIT workouts this week as life just kind of got in the way. The hubby was sick all last week so I spent the entire week trying to avoid his germs without avoiding him! We had plans to go to Birmingham for our anniversary on Friday for a concert and run a race Saturday morning and I just knew that I would come down with whatever he had late in the week throwing the proverbial ‘monkey wrench’ in our plans.  I’m pretty sure at one point, psychosomatic{ism} kicked in around Tuesday and I was convinced that I was running fever. However, we made it to Birmingham and had a fabulous time!

Friday night we saw Faith Hill and Tim McGraw‘s Soul2Soul concert with Need to Breathe as the opening act. Pretty good stuff!18034199_10211520860190971_2087746933167569356_n

After a late night of singing, dancing and kicking up our cowboy boots we were up early Saturday morning headed to a rock quarry. Okay, let me just say that I really didn’t have a clear idea of exactly how deep a rock quarry can be when I signed us up for this race. Needless to say, we quickly found out! More details on this when I do my race recap. However, I will tell you that the hills were STEEP and slow while the downhill was steep and FAST! The views were amazing and while our quads, hamstrings, glutes and calves were not all that happy …we had a blast!

20170422_085438

When you survive the 700+ ft climb out of a rock quarry, you have your picture made in the bucket of a front end loader …you just do.

A fun and challenging race ….stay tuned for more details!

Speaking of challenges ….let’s talk, shall we? If you’ve been following my blog, you know that I’ve quite a bit of a challenge with my new orthotics. As a matter of fact, I believe the last weekly recap I posted, I may or may not have mentioned that I was about ready to throw them in the pond behind my house or demand a refund. Well, knowing the latter wouldn’t happen and throwing them away wasn’t going to solve my ankle issue, I decided to suck it up, hunker down and press on by running more and more with them even if it wasn’t comfortable. After all, isn’t that what runners do? We run even when it gets uncomfortable. So, two weeks ago I checked my training plan and the plan said 4 miles. Up until this point, I had only been able to run with them a mile to a mile and a half before I just couldn’t take it anymore. They just ‘bugged’ me. They rubbed the arch of my feet and just didn’t feel good. I decided that I would force myself to run at least 2 miles with them and after that if I couldn’t make it, I’d swing by the house to ditch them before finishing up my mileage. I also decided to swallow my runners pride and try the run/walk interval method with a 3:1 ratio thinking this would give my feet a break and a chance to adapt to their new ‘environment’. Guess what? It worked! I made it the entire 4 miles without any issues AND in about the same amount of time it usually takes me to run 4 easy miles. I’ve slowly been adding mileage and continued with the intervals during my training runs. My longest run to date with the orthotics has been 8 miles and I will admit, the last 2 miles of that run was not pleasant. I had two substantial blisters by the time I was done. However, I had gone from 5 to 8 miles which is a big jump….obviously too big. This weekend I have 9 on the plan, so I’ll most likely plan my route where I can switch shoes after 6 or 7 miles and see if that helps.  I can accept the fact that I’m older and slower now, but I will NOT accept the fact that I can’t continue to run! I wish I had a little more time before my half to make this transition a little slower, but I feel so much better about it and see light at the end of the tunnel!

The more I thought about this, the more I realized what a great metaphor for life this is. Often times, when we are frustrated and ready to give up, that’s when the situation is ripe for a breakthrough! It hurts, it doesn’t seem like it’s ever going to get any better, other people tell you to give up or change your goals ….that is when you need to suck it up, hunker down and press on! You never know what waits for you just on the other side of that challenge …it just might be the breakthrough you’ve been waiting for!

I’m linking up with the fabulous Holly and Tricia for their Weekly Wrap. Be sure to visit their blogs and some of the other ladies linking up to see what they are training for these days! We all have challenges at some point in our lives and you’re sure to find the motivation and inspiration needed to push you through with these ladies!

weeklywrapHave you ever run a Quarry run? What are some challenges you are currently facing? Hold on …a breakthrough might just be around the corner!

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one challenge at a time!

22 thoughts on “Challenges Pave the Way for Breakthrough

    • Yes! Being a crazed stair climber, you’d love the challenge of a Quarry run! As to the orthotics… I really didn’t have much of a choice. I don’t think the average person has this much trouble adjusting to theirs. I didn’t have any trouble with my first set. I waited too long to get the new ones and they were very aggressive.

      Like

  1. I have been checking your blog waiting for an update! People do want to know. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear more about the race — I’ve never even heard of one held in a quarry!
    Run/walk really can have advantages. I think you just have to get over the hump of thinking that walking during a race isn’t racing (and spectators believe that, apparently, too, from the comments I get).
    Since I always took walking breaks, it wasn’t that big a deal for me to make the switch once I had a watch capable of doing intervals.

    Like

  2. Darlene says:

    Sounds like an awesome weekend. There’s no shame in walking. I do it all the time. I have big problems with blisters if I run over 6 miles. I tape my feet with moleskin on the problem areas. Hope you figure out the foot issues and definitely keep running.

    Like

    • Oh my goodness, so do I Darlene! I’m good for 6 miles but after that, I’m pretty much guaranteed a blister. Half marathons are rough on my feet. A friend of mine who runs Ultras told me to wear Injinj to socks and I wouldn’t get blisters. I didn’t believe that it could be that easy. But I tried them and they worked! I’ve never gotten a blister while wearing them. In fact, my last half marathon I ran in Nashville was the first half I’ve ever run in which I didn’t get a blister! I only have one pair of these socks and just recently lost one of them. Had to run my 8 miler without them and got blisters. Needless to say, I’ve got like 4 pairs on order at this moment 😂😂

      Like

      • Darlene says:

        I need to try those socks. I’ve heard that but I couldn’t imagine that they’d work. I always get blisters and I’m happy if they aren’t serious ones.

        Like

  3. Just reading the word quarry sort of freaks me out. The tri I’ve been doing the last couple of years has the swim in a quarry and I can’t even think about how freaking deep it is. Glad to hear you’re finding a way to make the orthotics and running work. We definitely need to get creative as we age. But give up? Never!

    Like

  4. Glad you are finding a way to make the orthotics work. I never did…

    There’s a race here called the Quarryman Challenge–it’s a 10 miler–and I’ve never done it. The hills kind of scare me. Which is dumb because I love that distance…

    Like

    • 10 miles!! I can’t even imagine. This one was only 3.7ish miles but you had the choice to sign up for the “double crusher” and run the loop twice. My quads and hip flexors told me that one was enough 🙂 It was fun though and a great chance to see the inside of a working quarry….pretty cool stuff.

      Like

  5. Hi! Saw your comment on my blog. I am in Jackson, so right around the corner from you!
    I read your last post about hydration. I use my FlipBelt and the 11oz bottle. I had to go on a few runs to get used to sliding it in and out of the belt, but it’s muscle memory now! I have really enjoyed having it on my longer runs.
    Glad to find a neighbor blogger, and I will continue reading 🙂

    Like

  6. I wish I had known you’d be in Bham… It’d be nice to have a little more time before Utah to attempt to get a little faster. Oh well. I’m glad to be out there pounding the pavement at any speed. I’ve been avoiding the whole orthotic wearing thing. But, you give me hope! Maybe I can go there after all. Thanks for linking, Teresa!

    Like

    • Same here Holly! The name of this half marathon game is “finish healthy”! Sometimes I wonder if I’ll ever be completely injury free again. But like you said … I’m just happy to be out there, no matter how slow I am. Maybe once we get Utah behind us we can nail down a cycling event. 😉

      Like

Share your thoughts

