April Runfessions

It’s FriYAY and another month is coming to a close which means it’s time to cleanse our souls or soles …or maybe both! This, quite possibly, may be everyone’s favorite link-up as we runners tend to get pretty uptight about things from time to time and let’s be honest, just like our sweaty running gear …sometimes, we just need to “air things out”. So let’s get right to it, shall we?tumblr_mxrk1aCoT41qft49to1_500

 

I runfess…

After discovering that one of my only pair of Injinji socks (which I absolutely have to wear for runs longer than 6 miles) has gone AWOL, last seen in the dirty clothes hamper, I promptly logged in to my Amazon account and ordered another multiple pairs. It’s been 8 days now and the lone sock is still sitting atop my dresser, waiting for the return of its mate. I can’t bring myself to move it to the “single sock bin” yet ….because we all know what happens to those! Any other sock would have promptly been relocated, but my beloved Injinji’s ….just no! I’m still holding out hope that it will turn up and in the meantime these new babies better arrive today because there’s a 9 miler on the training schedule for tomorrow. If not, I’ve actually considered wearing the lone sock along with a regular sock …since it just so happens to be the foot that tends to blister. Desperate times call for desperate measures! 66ed1e52c864512290dd273c3344ee30

I runfess….

While I’m ashamed to admit it, I used to think Jeff Galloway and his run/walking deal wasn’t for “real” runners. I know, I know ….I feel the shame. Whenever I would see people doing this in a race, I would think “just run! If you have to stop and walk in the first mile, then just slow your running down” for goodness sakes. But oh, how sweet a big slice of humble pie can be! After trying this method over the past several weeks and not only enjoying it, but also finding that my overall times are improving …I now think the man is a freaking genius! It is perfect for nursing injuries, getting acclimated to the heat and humidity and also serves as great speed work if you really push yourself on the run intervals. I’m not sure that I will use this in short distance racing, but definitely will incorporate it into half marathons. And just to quiet those indignant runners (like myself), I’m thinking about sporting one of these shirts …..187e6b4380c30325d29d78f598ee7be1

I runfess…

I have gotten to the point that I don’t even want to look at race pictures of myself anymore. I mean seriously… I either look like I’m walking, crawling, or dying, I’m either wiping my nose or looking spastic. And I truly think that the camera adds 20lbs to my thighs! For every one decent picture they capture, there’s always at least three hideous ones that make me cringe. In an effort of always “keeping it real”, here’s the latest…..

Instead of looking all cutesy like this girl…Vulcan Materials 5K_20170422_0468

….here’s what I getVulcan Materials 5K_20170422_0573

Yep, there it is …isn’t it lovely? I look like a have some serious “junk in my trunk” and my thighs look like tree trunks. And that’s all just icing on the cake to the spastic wave and look of sheer surprise on my face. Geez, this may be the worst one yet. They did get a halfway decent one of me crossing the finish line in which my thighs look a little closer to their actual size…Vulcan Materials 5K_20170422_0597

Clearly I need to either hide from the race photographers or amp up my “leg day” workouts.

I runfess….

After my lucky streak of winning giveaways I’ve had recently and in light of the way my thighs looked in the above mentioned runfession, I registered to win a free Cool Sculpting treatment. I mean, why not? If it’s free, non invasive and could possibly freeze the heck out of some stubborn fat cells that have taken up residence around my mid-section, hips and thighs …I’m all over that. Here’s to hoping my my lucky streak continues!

tumblr_n1zi5rWB2V1r7b6cio1_500

Let it go, let it go ….let the fat cells go!

 

I runfess….

My latest guilty pleasure is this little pint-sized bucket of pure sweet and salty deliciousness and I may or may not have indulged in the entire container last week …halo-top-sea-salt-caramel31012017….which obviously went straight to my thighs as evidenced by Saturdays race photos! Shakira hit the nail on the head when she said “hips don’t lie” ….and I’m here to tell ya that neither do the thighs! I’ve given very specific instructions to Major Hubs to limit my intake the next time I sit down with this seemingly innocuous pint of “healthy” ice cream. He gave me the look that says ….”I’m smarter than that!”when-your-hips-dont-lie-liggoafvofficial-little-did-the-horse-8504809

And with that, I’ll wrap up this session of Runfessions! Please join Marcia, our lovely hostess, and other runners as we bare our soles and souls!

Runfessions

I’m also linking up with Rachel and Meranda and Lacey for the  Friday Five 2.0 link. There’s so much fun on these last Fridays of the month, you’ll definitely want to join in!

Five Reasons I Love Blogging | Friday Five 2.0 | Running on Happy

 

What’s your favorite Halo Top flavor? Are you guilty of ever indulging in the entire pint? Do you love or hate your race pics? Have you or anyone you know ever had a Cool Sculpting treatment? Pros/Cons?

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one runfession at a time!

28 thoughts on “April Runfessions

  1. You know I’ve embraced the run/walk method and it’s serving me well right now. I won’t lie, I still feel like an imposter when I do it…
    I’ve never tried Halo Top. I go straight for the hard stuff, the Ben and Jerry’s. And BTW, my coach makes me do stuff that goes right to my thighs. I embrace them for all their large power. Skinny pants? Well, not so much…

    Like

  2. Darlene says:

    Salted caramel – you knew that that my favorite flavor.

    And my thighs? Let’s not go there – my worst body part. I only post the good pics and wearing skirts help (hide things).

    I wear skinny pants with LONG tops. LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  3. OMG I have so many race pics with eyes closed and/or tongue out. And obese, of course. I still have the lemon Halo Top in the freezer. Pretty sure it wouldn’t be there if it was Salted Caramel. Cool Sculpting? I need to belly up to that!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I seriously LOL at your commentary on the race pictures! Don’t you just hate when people look flawless and effortless? Why can’t that ever be us?
    I don’t use run /walk at smaller distances but run/walk was the only way I was going to get through my marathon!

    Like

  5. MB Jackson says:

    You are way to funny about the thighs! LOL! I always look at mine in the photos too- it is hard to get a good one! Funny how me look one way in the mirror and then when it goes into action you look at it and think, WTH? 🙂 I have yet to try Halo Top- I guess I am missing out!

    Like

  6. I love your sense of humor 😉 And the race pics? I’ve had some decent ones…but I’ve had many, many hideous ones….you know, where i look like I’m on the verge of tripping myself or have no teeth or am trying to “run blind” (with one or both eyes closed). Reality bites.

    Like

  7. Haha! I think the same race photographer happens to come to all the races I’m in! I don’t know what it is, but I have the same problem! My husband looks like an effortless gazelle in ALL running photos (both feet flying off the ground, look of determination, not pain on his face, he actually looks fast (which he is, which might be the difference…)).
    That horse picture cracks me up!

    Like

  8. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    I’ve actually never had Halo Top ice cream but everyone seems to rave about it! I could definitely eat a pint in one sitting, though, lol!

    I don’t think your race photos look bad! Sometimes I look okay in photos but they are SO expensive that I don’t even purchase the good ones.

    Galloway seems to be working well for lots of people. That T-shirt is too funny!

    Like

  9. OMG race photos are the worst. But I totally love that Jeff Galloway shirt. I’m all about taking short walk breaks during long runs and usually walk through water stations during longer races.

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

