Running Gear to Evening Wear

Whew, what a week! My entire week was consumed with three things …running, working and primping. Yes, you heard me …primping. Major Hubs and I had a date Saturday evening for the Mississippi National Guard Officer’s Convention, which is a formal affair, and this year, the Major was part of the program. This meant that we’d be sitting at the head tables, on display for hundreds of others to watch ….so obviously, everything had to be perfect! In between training runs and some accounting work I had to finish for a client, I was either trying on dresses, getting mani/pedi’s, shoe shopping or getting my hair colored. Don’t get me wrong, I do love to pamper myself …but for some reason, when it has to be done all in the same week, it becomes more of a chore than a treat. Life is hard when you’re a woman! 🙂

My weekly workouts did suffer a little this week as I only got in my scheduled training runs. There was no strength training, no HIIT classes and no cycling …just running and running around. But, since I am training for a half marathon, at least the really important stuff did get done. For the first month in a long time, I actually surpassed the ’50 miles per month’ goal I had set for the year! #progress80.7 Run32 BikeHere’s what my week looked like:

Monday:  Rest from our busy weekend and worked on my clients book work (aka looking at a computer screen all day crunching numbers)

Tuesday: 4.5 mile run at noon. This run actually went really well and I felt great. It was warm and humid. I had to take the car in for a routine maintenance servicing so I intentionally decided to get my run in afterwards when it would be warmer as I’m trying to get my mind and body acclimated to running in warmer temps. I have a 10k coming up soon with an 8:30 start time…it will be HOT. I pulled off negative splits for this one even with heat and humidity. 11:38/10:38/10:35/10:17/10:01

At the last minute, the Major asked me if I’d be interested in going to an evening baseball game. My response…. of course! Who doesn’t enjoy a relaxing evening eating hot dogs and people watching, especially when it’s Mississippi State and Ole Miss playing for the Governor’s Cup! #HailState20170425_190217

Wednesday:  Early morning hair appointment {operation gray hair coverage}, grocery store {the hubs consumes more milk than a newborn baby} and back home for more number crunching.

Thursday: Finally finished with all of the number crunching, I leisurely sipped my morning coffee and watched several episodes of Fixer Upper on HGTV before heading out for my 6 mile run. I had no expectations for this one other than to just get it done. I didn’t even set my watch for the walk/run intervals. I just ran slow and allowed my mind to decompress.

Friday: Mani/Pedi, shoe shopping and my standing Friday lunch date with the hubs. My dresses arrived from Rent the Runway, an online dress rental company. This was my first experience renting a dress. Although, there was a major minor, okay, major hiccup in the process, overall I have to say that they were very professional and accommodating in making things right and I will definitely use them again.

The Officer’s Convention was hosting a hospitality party with cocktails, hors d’oeuvre’s and a band, The Kings of Neon, not to be confused with the Kings of Leon ….which apparently many of the younger people did and found themselves somewhat disappointed. Those of us in the more ‘mature’ age range, however, found them fabulously entertaining. I can describe them in two words …..80’s baby!20170428_214337

Saturday: 9 mile run on the training schedule and to say that it totally sucked would be putting it mildly. Actually, the first 4 miles felt great, the rest sucked. It was like running in a tropical rain forest, there seemed to be a wicked head wind no matter the direction I was going, my feet hurt, I had no energy and I stepped within inches of a snake! 20170429_095623

However, on a good note ….my new Skirt Sports skort was point on and I still finished with a smile on my face. Screenshot_20170429-112824Because we all know ….for every bad run, there’s a great run just around the bend! I chalked this one up to my lack of fueling, because to be honest, I had been limiting my food to mostly salads this week so that I could look fabulous in my dress! {Priorities} But, let’s face it, high mileage and low calories just don’t jive.

After a long hot bath and indulging myself in an afternoon nap, I slipped into my dress, put on my sparkly shoes and proudly took the arm of my handsome soldier for a wonderful evening together. #hooah20170429_182112

I’m weeklywraplinking up with Tricia and Holly for the Weekly Wrap where we share, inspire, encourage and hold one another accountable in our weekly workout endeavors. Be sure to visit their blogs and see what they are up to ….Tricia has just returned from a bucket list race and Holly is heading to Wisconsin this weekend! Always something exciting going on with those two!

Have you ever seen a snake on one of your runs? Is it dreadfully hot and humid in your neck of the woods yet? Do you love formal affairs? Ever used Rent the Runway? 

 

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one week at a time!

16 thoughts on “Running Gear to Evening Wear

  1. I just checked out that rental site! How cool is that! It’s like shopping at Nordstrom’s. What a deal because I’d probably only wear the dress once anyways. You two make a beautiful couple!

    Like

    • Yes it is exactly like shopping at Nordstrom’s without the hefty price tag! That’s exactly why I decided to give it a try…. because I will only wear it once. We have this even every year and I would hate to wear the same dress twice 🙂

      Like

  2. I’ve heard so many good things about Rent the Runway! One of my friends uses it all the time. We don’t go to many, I mean, any formals but if I did–you sold me. You look amazing!!! Hubs looks pretty handsome too.

    Like

  3. I haven’t had to dress up in…forever. But, I’ll definitely keep Rent the Runway in mind. You look fabulous!! Very nice mileage for April. I did some of that tropical rain forest running last week as well. It’s just too soon! I need to up my downhill running this month for Utah. I feel like time is just running out though. But, I’ll be seeing you soon! Thanks for linking, Teresa!

    Like

    • I know, I feel the same. It’s really hard to find some place to run that has a lot of downhill though. I’m just going to wing it and hope for the best! Good luck this weekend, have fun and I’ll see you in Utah! 🙂

      Like

  4. I wanted to comment on Runfessions! I always look so much heavier in race photos cause my pockets are filled kind of like a squirrel’s cheeks! And I often look like I’m walking. Heck, sometimes I AM walking cause yeah, you guessed it, I run/walk — and yeah, that’s often the attitude non-run-walkers have. I’m used to it now, but all I can say is since going back to it a year & a half ago it just works for me.
    Love HaloTop — really, that’s not the stuff going to your thighs, it’s really pretty good. I don’t usually do sugar alcohols, but I make an exception for it (and try to keep it down to a couple of times a week).
    You do need those calories, but you sure did look fab in your dress!
    I can’t begin to tell you the running around I had to do before we left . . . to say I was tired was a mild understatement. It always amazes me what the adrenaline of a race can do, even a small one.
    I’m not sure I had a single great long run this whole short training cycle — not sure I’d say the race was great, but I met my goals & that’s enough for me.

    Like

Share your thoughts

