May Runfessions: Utah Valley Half Marathon

Happy Friday all! Not only does that mean the long holiday weekend is upon us, but also means it’s time for another edition of Runfessions and what perfect timing! Why, you ask? Well, the Utah Valley Half is just two weeks away and I have a lot on my mind and soles to runfess, specifically regarding this upcoming race. So, without further delay ….let the cleansing begin!Runfessions (1)

 

I runfess ….. for the past few weeks, on occasion, I have felt an old familiar pain in the top of my foot when walking. So far, it hasn’t bothered me while running but usually within the first few steps after sitting for a while. It is so reminiscent of a stress fracture in the metatarsal I suffered several years ago. In addition, the old ankle injury that really never healed completely is talking rather loudly lately. I’m assuming from the increased mileage. Sigh …. the unraveling continues.

I runfess …. due to the above “unraveling”, I’m seriously considering backing off the long runs and just coasting on in to Utah! I mean, I know I can run 13 miles. It may not be fast or pretty, but I can cross that finish line.

5767_BLOGJPG_03T65698C0077224E

Photo Courtesy of ClipartOf.com/#5767

I runfess ….. I have no idea how the elevation of this course is going to affect my performance. The half starts around 5,200 ft and my hometown sits around a whopping 338 ft …..this could pose a problem. I’m not concerned about altitude sickness since I have visited Colorado Springs and Jackson Hole, both of which sit somewhere in the 6,000 ft of elevation. However, I do remember my lungs screaming for air as we hiked mountains. I’m banking on the fact that we will be descending rather than climbing.

443289_BLOGJPG_03T65698C0077224E

I runfess ….. I have never run a race that required me to catch a bus at 3:10 AM!! I’m definitely NOT looking forward to that. I mean, seriously? Who sleeps well the night before a big race anyway? Add a 2 o’clock wake up to the picture and what do you have? A zombie run, that’s what. I do not know how all of you “Disney runners” do it! On a positive note ….maybe the downhill course will just pull me to the finish line …half asleep, nauseated from either the bus ride up the mountain and hobbling from all of my “unraveling”!

I runfess ….. despite my concerns regarding my aches and pains, the altitude and the insanely early morning start, I am excited about taking in the beauty of Utah in the best possible manner ….while running! Oh yeah, and then there’s this pretty awesome little perk of getting to meet in person some of the fabulous fellow bloggers I’ve met over the past year! You ladies have not only welcomed me with the warmest of hearts, but have also been such an amazing support group! See you in two weeks ladies!

434424_BLOGJPG_03T65698C0077224E

Photo courtesy of ClipartOf.com/#434424

I’m linking up with Marcia for her Runfessions link up as well as RachelMeranda and Lacey for the Friday Five 2.0. Thank you ladies for hosting these fun and fabulous link-ups!

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one Runfession at a time!

24 thoughts on “May Runfessions: Utah Valley Half Marathon

  1. Eeeeek! 2 weeks! Just coast it on in girl. You can do it. We’re there for fun, who cares about time, not I. I ran in Denver (6,000ft) and a race starting in Breckenridge (8500 ft) and crewed in (Leadville 10+000 ft) and there was some shortness of breath but nothing horrible. I’m going to be taking the easy paced scenic route myself. Can’t wait to see you!

    Like

  2. Darlene says:

    Oh no. I know that feeling. I’ve had a metatarsal stress fracture.

    Looking forward to hearing all about the race.

    Come to Vegas in Nov. it’s flat and at night.

    Like

  3. When I ran Big Sur, we had to get on a bus at 330 am. But that was 5:30 my time, so it wasn’t as bad as it sounds. Don’t sweat that one. The altitude is a whole other thing. I’m getting winded going upstairs these days. I’d love to be there with you guys but this just isn’t my year for all that! I’m looking forward to hearing about all the shenanigans!

    Like

  4. Gosh, I Hope the “unraveling” finds its way back into securely tied bow (bad attempt at a metaphor…sorry). I think you have a huge advantage with gravity on your side…of course, downhill running is an other kind of challenge. Good luck, and take it easy!

    Like

  5. I’m so excited for you! I could not make it to the race so I gave my registration to a friend.

    Isn’t it something how we runners can just take these miles in stride? We know we can do 13 miles even when we’re aren’t feeling it but we know we’ll get trough it some how. Before I was a runner I would Ave ad to think twice about running 13 miles injury free let alone having some niggles!
    Heck I don’t thin i’ve even been on a race us that early for a Disney race! Is it a long ride to the start line?

    Thanks for linking up!

    Like

    • I know, right?? I can remember when I first started running thinking that I could not imagine ever being able to run more than 30 minutes without stopping!! 🙂

      I really don’t know how far the drive will be to the starting line …I just hope it’s not winding and curvy ….I sure don’t want to add motion sickness to my list of things to think about! lol

      Like

  6. Oh no — maybe they’re those phantom niggles? That’s a thing! I have various aches & pains all the time these days, it seems, although once in a while everything feels good.

    I am most definitely there for the scenery! I’m so excited to go to UT! It looks amazing.

    The elevation thing . . . that’s a little scary. I have run in Denver but it’s not quite the same thing as racing! And I’ve never done a point to point either, or had to take a bus to the start (although in Montreal I had to take the Metro — and it was freeezing!) — but my fall half is the same way so I’m considering this practice.

    Like

  7. I understand about feeling those aches! I feel my old tibial stress fracture spot often and it freaks me out. I bet even just doing a few more 10K runs would be plenty of training, you can do it 😉 The down hill is bound to help.
    When I ran in MT ( a few years ago) I didn’t feel very different, or maybe I didn’t notice lol but it seemed okay even though I am not use to it.
    I think it will be wonderful in Utah 🙂

    Like

  8. MB Jackson says:

    I didn’t do my long run over the holiday weekend, does that make you feel better? We will have a great time!!!! Can’t wait to meet you in person! You got this!

    Like

Share your thoughts

