This Week’s Gallivantin’: Coasting in to Utah

Welcome to this week’s Gallivantin’! It’s Memorial Day weekend and just two short weeks out from the Utah Valley Half Marathon! It hasn’t been a spectacular training cycle but at the same time, it hasn’t been a total train wreck either. But then again, I don’t know that I’ve ever had a perfect training cycle …is there such a thing? I’ve said it before and I’ll say it until the day arrives that I cannot put one foot in front of the other ….at my age and with the injuries I’ve had in the past, I’m just grateful anytime I can cross a finish line of any distance. Yes, grateful and blessed! Running is a gift, never take it for granted. With that being said, let’s see what the past week had in store for me.Untitled design

Monday: Major Hubs had to work in Meridian so we spent Sunday night there so that I could clean out a few closets of clothes that I had left behind when we moved. Yes, that’s right…. we moved last November and our house is still on the market. The housing market is saturated there and pretty stagnant. Anyway, this allowed me the opportunity to go to my favorite park to run some stairs and get a few cycling miles in. This place is one of the very few things I miss about that town! As I finished up my 10 mile bike ride and 1,360 stair run …I still managed to get a decent jump shot in. I do love this workout combo!

 

Tuesday:  Rest ….major soreness setting in from all of those dang stairs. Ugh… it always seems like a good idea until DOMS sets in.

Wednesday: 5 miles with major #deadlegs. Thank goodness for my Legend compression sleeves! Have I mentioned how much I love these compression sleeves and socks?? I’ve worn several different brands of compression wear and these are by far the most comfortable! They are so soft, easy to get on and most importantly ….#rightnottight! If you’d like to give them a try, use this code to get $15 of your first order!20170524_105057.png

Oh yeah, and after several weeks off, the hubs and I were finally able to make it back to our favorite HIIT class at the gym. OMG! I could definitely tell that I had missed a few weeks. But on a positive note …my new hormone therapy kept my hot flashes in check so I didn’t feel like I was going to spontaneously combust during the class and the bonus challenge she gave us at the end of the class was so challenging for me that I actually CHOSE to do burpees instead!! Now that’s progress folks! LOL

Thursday: Rest ….even more soreness, aches and niggles. Maybe going to our HIIT class last night wasn’t the best idea. But hey, I can do hard things!

Friday: My morning run got pushed back due to the fact that the college boy needed me to help him out with something and …well, you know how that is….when your children need you, no matter how old they are, you drop everything and jump through a thousand hoops to do it, right? Right. So, once “Suit and Dress Shirt Recovery Mission” was accomplished, I set out for my scheduled run of downhill repeats….at noon, at 82 degrees and blazing sunshine. I was hoping to get a feel for how these orthotics would feel after several miles of downhill running in preparation for Utah. I’m pretty sure that 2.2 miles isn’t a good indicator, but it was just too hot to continue. So I just decided to call it complete. I’m adding this to all of the other Utah concerns I runfessed about on Friday and have made peace with my decision to coast on in to Utah. I’m focusing on the adventure, beautiful scenery and the friends I will meet up with!

Saturday:really wanted to get 12 miles in and then start tapering, but my body  had other plans. I woke up still incredibly sore from the cumulative effect of stairs, HIIT and speedwork. So, I listened to my body, bailed on the long run and took Ole Chester boy for a walk while the hubs got his miles in. I rarely do this during a training cycle, but for some reason I just felt it was the right thing to do. I am planning on attempting the long run this week but if it doesn’t happen, I’m not going to panic. I know I can finish this race, it just may not be pretty. But hey, not every race is fast or pretty, but every race finished is something to be proud of.IMG_20170527_160634_859

We kicked off our Memorial Day weekend in Vicksburg at the Battlefield National Park listening to the Mississippi Symphony Orchestra. It was a beautiful evening for a sunset concert spent with the hubs and my sister.

 

Today, Major (Chaplain) Hubs did an exceptional job at church this morning reminding us of what Memorial Day is really about and how blessed we are as a nation. Never forget those men and women of our military who paid the ultimate price, in blood, for the multitude of freedoms we all enjoy every day.

 Greater love has no man than this, that a man lay down his life for his friends.” John 15:13

Have a wonderful and safe Memorial Day and may we never forget!

God bless our military and may God continue to bless the United States of America!

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one week at a time!

I’m linking up with Holly and Tricia for the Weekly Wrap. Please visit each of these ladies blogs and as many others as you can. No doubt, you will find all the encouragement, motivation and inspiration you could possibly need!WeeklyWrap

30 thoughts on “This Week’s Gallivantin’: Coasting in to Utah

  1. I know so many bloggers running the Utah Valley Half Marathon – it should be a great race weekend for sure!
    So smart of you to listen to your body when it came to your long run. I think our bodies are always “speaking” to us, but its just up to us to listen!
    I hope you’re having a great Memorial Day weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I think you will do great in Utah…like you said, you will finish the race, so it will be a victory 😉 I appreciate all your sentiments about Memorial Day. You probably know my husband is retired military (31 years of service, Lt Cnl),and I get a little irritated by everyone’s pics of “celebrating” the weekend instead of paying honor to it. I know, first world probs, but still. A big thanks to your hubby for his service!!!! )(and a big thanks to YOU…because we all know they do not serve alone) 😉

    Like

    • Absolutely Kim! It always irritates me when people say “happy” memorial day. For so many, there’s nothing happy about it. I’m all about enjoying a long holiday weekend so long as we remember who paid the price for it! Thanks to yiu and your husband for three decades of service!

      Like

  3. FWIW I’ll be in Utah to have fun. I was obsessed with my tri, and now I’ve shifted to Berlin training mode. Utah is all about fun and friends at whatever pace. Coasting in sounds perfect! Thanks to Major Hubs and all the veterans for their bravery and service to this wonderful country!

    Like

  4. Darlene says:

    I have skipped many a long run. Sometimes I wish I didn’t and other times, I’m glad I gave my legs a rest.

    Either way, I finish and you will too. Just look at the scenery and ignore those hills.

    Can’t wait to hear about it.

    We will meet another time.

    Maybe you can go solo and share a room with me and Marcia in Vegas.

    Like

  5. Sometimes bailing on a long run is the wiser thing to do, for sure. And yeah, we’re not getting a whole lot of bites for my parents’ house, either. We’ve never moved when the market has been good ourselves!

    I’m not quite sure how my toes will react to all that downhill either, but it is what it is, right?

    Sounds like a pretty strong week to me!

    Like

  6. Can you believe Utah is almost here? There have been runs that I probably should have bailed on. At this point, it is what it is. I love my legend compression sleeves, but I don’t have white. They look good. See you soon. Thanks for linking, Teresa!

    Like

  7. I love that you listened to your body and walked the dog. I am starting to do more listening and I think it is helping me a lot. I’ve never been good at that. But if I want to keep running, it’s the way to go.

    Like

  8. I don’t know what it is about stairs, but they are killer! And always leave me with serious DOMS. Great job listening to your body, too. I haven’t trained for a race is over a year. I always seem to miss at least one long run during a training cycle. lol.

    In case you don’t see my reply to your comment on my post, wanted to let you know that I’ll be hosting a fitness challenge in July/Aug that you may be interested in to prepare for your Hawaii trip in Aug. 🙂

    Like

  9. MB Jackson says:

    listening to your body is always the right answer! and you are kicking it with that cross training you will easily get to that finish line- we all will! Can’t wait! I bet sharing Memorial day with the Major Hubs is pretty special ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Stairs are a tough workout! It was good to adjust your training as needed, I bet you will feel better at the start line of Utah for it and it shouldn’t be 82 degrees, so hopefully you will have a wonderful payoff on race day!
    We are very blessed in the USA and thanks to the hubs for his service “)

    Like

  11. I almost got my feeling hurt you were in Meridian and didn’t tell me then it dawned on me I wasn’t here either! Sigh… We’ve got to get together and soon!
    Seeing the oh so familiar stairs 103 to be exact reminds me I need to do that workout !

    Like

Share your thoughts

