My Top 5 Race “Must-Haves”

I always procrastinate packing for a trip because, frankly, I always want to take too much “stuff”. There’s always the essentials, the non-essentials, the accessories and then the “just in case” stuff. However, when I’m packing for a race weekend, it’s always fairly easy since I know what I absolutely have to have, what works and what I can’t imagine running without. Here are my top five race “must-haves” for the Utah Valley Half Marathon ……
My Top.png

1. Plantronics BackBeat Fit

I am totally in love with these ear buds! I was the lucky recipient of this fabulous lady’s giveaway and I’m forever grateful to her for bringing me in to the 21st “wireless” century! The ear pieces rotate to adjust to your ear and I’ve never had them fall out during a run or workout.  The battery lasts up to seven hours and I love that I can answer a phone call, hear my running app update me on my stats while listening to my tunes all at once! These will definitely be in my ears as I’m racing down the mountains of Utah!

31C+G8wjpPL._SL500_AC_SS350_

 

2. Injinji Socks

If you are a regular follower, you know how much I love these socks. Every time I put them on, Major Hubs comments on how he could not tolerate toe socks, especially to run in! As odd as it seems, they are the most comfortable socks I’ve ever worn AND they prevent blisters and hot spots. The first time I ever ran in these socks, I broke the rule of never trying something new on race day, and wore them for the RnR Nashville Half Marathon. The weather forecast was predicting rain and I’m prone to getting blisters even in dry conditions. I was really worried about the potential blisters I might get running 13.1 miles with wet feet! A friend of mine who is an ultra runner suggested I get a pair of Injinji’s, so I thought …what have I got to lose. It poured that morning as we made out way from the parking lot to the corrals. Although it stopped raining just as our corral made its way to the starting line, my feet were soaked. 13.1 miles later, I crossed the finish line without one blister! If you haven’t tried these, you need to. I promise you will love them ….honestly, the most frustrating thing about them is trying to choose from all the cool colors and patterns, and maybe trying to get that baby toe in the right slot! Because colorful feet are happy feet!

mRegdiUj50tj0iymQghaiNw

3. Momentum Motivational Wrap

….because who doesn’t need a little extra motivation when things start getting a tough out there!?!  Come on, you know what I’m talking about. There’s no such thing as an effortless half marathon or marathon! At some point, if you’re pushing yourself hard enough, we all reach the point where our brain and body begin to argue with one another. One always wants to slow down or give up before the other, right? That’s where these little gems come in handy. You choose one of their standard quotes or have one custom-made, as I did here, so when things start getting tough ….well, the tough can get going!

20170407_170442

 

4. Skirtsports Hover Skirt

Let me just say that I am a running skirt fanatic! I have always loved running in them …not only are they comfortable, allowing plenty of mobility, they are feminine as well. I probably own just about every brand of running skirt there is, however, this is by far my most favorite of them all! First of all, the pattern …is this not the cutest?!? Second, the wrap front is so cute and flirty but also allows for ease of movement. Third, I promise you that the built-in shorties will not ride up!! That’s super important, right? Last, but certainly not least ….pockets! There are plenty of pockets on the built in shorties to hold all of those salted caramel Gu’s that I cannot live without!

1029-118_hover_persevere-1#
Click to Order

 

5. Legend Compression Calf Sleeves

#rightnottight ….Need I say more? If ever there was a time for compression socks during a race, a downhill half marathon would be it! No doubt I will be wearing these fabulously comfortable calf sleeves during the race and will have another on standby for the flight home! I’ve tried many different brands of compression socks over the years and these, by far, are my favorite! Click on the link below to get $15 off your first order if you’d like to give them a try. #beaLEGEND

20170524_105057
Click to save $15 off your first order!

Now that all the really important stuff is all packed, I’ll be throwing in the non-essentials and the “just in case” items ….well you know, just in case!

I’m looking forward to a beautiful race and meeting new friends. I’ll see you on the other side of the mountains of Utah!

I’m linking this post up with RachelMeranda and Lacey for their Friday Five 2.0 link up! Do stop by our hostesses and other bloggers who have linked up to see how they are adjusting to the summer heat and for other fitness inspiration.frifive2

What are some of your race “must-haves”? Are you an over-packer? Are you racing this weekend?

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one race at a time!

 

10 thoughts on “My Top 5 Race “Must-Haves”

  1. Darlene says:

    We pretty much like the same things – skirtsports, compression sleeves, salted caramel, momentum wrap.
    I do need to order those toe socks.
    I also need a baseball cap and sunglasses. I’ve gotten better about packing and have only used a carry on for my last race-cation.

    Like

  2. How cool why haven’t I thought of coming up with a custom motivational wrap saying? Maybe cause there are so many good ones to choose from I can barely decide now!
    I hope you have an amazing time and race in UT! I’ll be stalking all of yall’s social media feeds! Good luck my friend!

    Like

  3. You know I like those socks! They are especially good for long runs. I need to order some of the fun colors.

    Have fun this weekend! I sure wish I could be there with you!

    Like

    • Yes! Because fun colors make the run, right?!? I wish you could’ve made the Utah trip as well and I wish I had had more time to spend with the others …..but I have a darn good feeling there will be more “meet-ups” in the near future!

      Like

  4. I am most definitely an “over-packer.” I am always trouble shooting and want to be prepared for any race day scenario. I need to get a Momentum Wrap…I’m probably the last runner in the universe without one LOL I can’t wait to see all the Utah pics!!!

    Like

Share your thoughts

