This Week’s Gallivantin’: Recovery & Regrouping

As most of you know, last Saturday, I was in the beautiful city of Provo, Utah running the Utah Valley Half Marathon (click here for the race recap) with a few other “fabulous” bloggers! We had such a wonderful time that we are already looking at future potential races for more “meet-ups”! While it took me several days to come down from my “mountain high”, I did manage to get some great cross-training in while recovering and regrouping. Let’s take a look at my week…..Recovery.png

Monday: 3 easy miles on the elliptical, strength training(chest/tri) and 100 push ups (June Challenge)

Tuesday: Kayaking, 100 squats (June Challenge) and 40 cardio circuit with Major Hubs. We went to the gym and did 10 minutes on the stairmaster, 10 minutes on the Spin bike, 10 minute run on the treadmill and 10 minutes on the elliptical with no breaks in between. Good little circuit to get your heart rate up and keep your body guessing.Screenshot_20170613-133843Screenshot_20170613-133632

Wednesday: 3 mile run, 100 sit ups (June Challenge) and HIIT class. This was my first outdoor run since my half on Saturday. The legs actually felt good but ooohhh, the lungs weren’t happy with the humidity!

20170615_155013.png

My lungs were screaming ….”We’re not in Utah anymore!”

Thursday:Β The HIIT class did me in ….I could barely move this morning. I believe I’m just finally feeling the cumulative effect from the half and all of those dang squats I’ve been doing. Taking a much-needed rest day …well except for the 100 push ups! I felt very strongly that a Peach Margarita is just what I need to help me recover …..

Screenshot_20170615-160337

Ahhh ….it really did hit the spot!

Friday: Back in the gym for Back/Bi/Leg/Core workout. While I am missing “being on a running schedule”, I am really enjoying having the freedom to choose what I want to do each day!Β PicsArt_06-16-12.51.05

That evening, Major Hubs and I drove to Vicksburg (45 min.) to take the parents out to dinner. Both my Mom and Dad have birthdays in early June just before Father’s Day. So, we celebrated all events at Vicksburg’s rooftop restaurant overlooking the Mississippi River. We were treated to a beautiful view of the sun setting over the river just as a storm rolled in!

Saturday: For the first time inΒ months, I slept in without one thought to setting an alarm, checking my training schedule and laying out running clothes! It felt odd but nice. No running, no weights, no cycling …..nada. Instead, we spent the day hauling what was left of our “life’s accumulation” from our house in Meridian back to Jackson….which can be quite a workout in itself! How does one accumulate so much “stuff” in one’s lifetime?

If the weather cooperates, this week I intend to spend some quality time with my bike. I plan on running an average of 10 -15 miles per week throughout the “dog days of summer” and amping up the cycling, while getting back to a regular strength training routine. I’m thinking of doing somethingΒ crazyΒ this fall so I need to build my strength ….stay tuned!

Do you cross train more during the brutal summer months or keep running? Are you already planning on fall goals/races?Β 

I’m linking up withΒ Holly,Β TriciaΒ and guest hostΒ TaraΒ for the Weekly Wrap link up. Be sure to stop by their blogs and visit as many others linking up as you can. These really are some incredibly inspirational ladies!WWGuest-Tara

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one week at a time!

33 thoughts on “This Week’s Gallivantin’: Recovery & Regrouping

  1. Wow! 100 pushups is impressive! I can do the squats, but there is no way I could do that many push ups! It sounds like you had a great week of recovery! A peach margarita sounds amazing! I love being able to sleep in and not worry about anything else. It’s such a good feeling! Have a great week!

    Like

  2. Now that my marathon is done, I’m kind facing that “what’s next?” dilemma. I obviously have some smaller races coming up, but nothing major that requires several months of preparation/planning/anxiety. I’m looking forward to some easy running and “nothing”on the schedule, but I’m also gonna miss the “training mentality.”

    Like

  3. Thank you for saying the cumulative effect of Utah has left you tired. That’s exactly how I felt at CrossFit the other day. I thought I felt good but when I went to push that dang sled, my quads were not having it. Happy Birthday to your parents!

    Like

    • I know! I was stiff and sore that day after running the half, but really felt good the next couple of days. It didn’t show up until I started trying to attempt other workouts. Maybe my old age has more to do with it than running a half??? lol

      Like

  4. Darlene says:

    No no don’t say those “old age” words. I think it’s travel and altitude and time zones LOL.

    When is your next meet-up. Are coming to gallivant in Vegas?

    Like

  5. You were WAY more active than I was.
    Usually I take my off season in the winter. Except not this winter. It IS nice to just do what you feel like doing. I still have one more half in the fall. I’m not quite into training for that yet.

    Like

  6. I need to focus more on strength this summer, I haven’t been feeling super motivated but I hope to get there lol
    Your MS pics are as pretty as Utah πŸ™‚
    It really is freeing to be able to pick whatever you feel like doing for the day!! I do love that part of not training. I intend to willy nilly the rest of the summer lol
    I want to hear your crazy plan.

    Like

  7. I was nothing but lazy last week. My body felt pretty good, but the travel and altitude took its toll. I overslept every morning. I think I may know what that crazy fall adventure may be. I’ve GOT to get busy with Sanity (my bike). Your 100’s are very impressive. I don’t even do 1’s. LOL.

    Like

  8. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    There’s something so satisfying about having a light running week after a big race. That said, you did great with all the cross training! Easing up on running and more on cross training is wise during the worse of the summer weather.

    Like

  9. While it can be nice to not follow a training plan, I usually end up missing the structure! I think once I get tired of the heat Ill do more cross training, but lately I have just wanted to be outside.

    Like

  10. I do a lot of cross training all year around. I won’t lie tho, in the summer, I look forward to those sessions a lot more than I do the running in the heat.

    Like

Share your thoughts

