July Runfessions: Hotter than …..?

Runfessions-300x294Another life sucking hot and humid month is coming to end which means it’s time to air all of our sweaty summer grievances by linking up with Marica’s Runfession link-up. Be sure to pop over to her blog and read all about her “Runfessions” and others.

So, let’s get this party started!

 

No point in dancing around the obvious, so I’ll just go ahead and get this one out of the way ……I runfess that I am totally over the heat and humidity.  Growing up in the south, I’ve heard quite a few ‘old sayings’ regarding the summer heat ….thought I’d share a few for your entertainment:

  • hotter than blue blazes
  • hotter than a six-shooter
  • hotter than Hell’s pepper patch
  • hotter than Hell on fire
  • hotter than a goats butt in the pepper patch

13650e26b48d05c70c06e30483d37d24

 

If you’ve been following me lately, you know that I’ve been on somewhat of a ‘running hiatus’ this summer and been cycling a lot instead. I runfess that I really miss running …but there’s that whole heat and humidity thing.

However, I am enjoying my bike and the myriad of adventures she’s bringing ….the good, bad and the ugly. After my tire blow-out the other day, I realized that I need to take ‘bicycle mechanics’ much more seriously. As much as I hate to admit it, I runfess that I’ve been riding around for years with a spare tube and nothing else. That’s right. No tools, no CO2 canisters and zero knowledge of how to change a tire. I’m not sure if I thought the tire would change itself or if it came down to it, I’d play the ‘damsel in distress’ role and rely on the goodness of strangers to help a poor girl out. While that’s exactly what happened yesterday (thanks to the southern gentleman in the Elmo cycling jersey:, I hated feeling so helpless and have vowed to not let that happen again. Let the record show, I runfess that I will be signing up for the next available bicycle mechanics class at the local bike shop.bcc4248607760c18664b7ad9d7706198--spare-tires-flat-tire

 

As a runner, I will admit that I used to get so irritated by cyclist whizzing past me on the trails as they yelled out “passing on the left”. I really don’t know why, but I would think to myself, quite smugly, as they passed me on a hill that it my running that hill was so much harder than them pushing up it on a bike. Well …..now that the shoe is on the other foot, so to speak, I runfess that I get so freaking irritated by walkers and runners who take up more than their half of the pathway! I can understand it if you don’t see the cyclist coming from behind, but many times I’ve encountered runners running side by side and they can see me coming and still don’t fall into single file. It’s so frustrating. Come on people…. let’s all play nice and download (1)

……and by the way, speaking from experience ….pedaling a bike uphill is just as hard as running uphill. It’s not a competition …we’re all just out there enjoying what we do, pushing ourselves beyond our comfort zones and trying to be the best version of us we can be.

And with that, I’ll close this month’s edition of ‘runfessions’. It always feels good to cleanse those sweaty soles! Join us the last Friday of every month when Marcia opens her ‘Runfessional’, I know you have a few things to ‘runfess’  yourself.

I’m also linking up with RachelMeranda and Lacey for the Friday Five 2.0. Do stop by their blogs and check out their July Runfessions …Friday Five style!!FriFive2

What are your favorite “hotter than” sayings? Do you know how to change a bike tire? Ever had a flat while riding? 

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one runfession at a time!

 

17 thoughts on “July Runfessions: Hotter than …..?

  1. It’s been awhile since I’ve been by with the busy summer! I don’t blame you cycling…it’s just too hot. I cut back my distance. Not sure how I could do a long run in this heat! Hope you are having a good summer Teresa!

    Like

  2. I don’t see Hotter than a witch’s tit here….or is it colder than?? Anyway, spare tube? I runfess I don’t have one. Never did. I live on the edge.

    Like

  3. I feel the same way about all this heat – I am over it!! The south is brutal for summer. I feel ya on the folks who won’t move, it is a pet peeve of mine when people are a few wide and won’t budge to give you space.
    That is awesome you signed for tire class 🙂

    Like

  4. Darlene says:

    We have not had heat this summer. Just a lot of rain. I think biking uphill is harder than running esp since I often walk up the hills. And no I have no idea how to change a tire. Good thing I don’t Bike.

    Like

  5. I need to take that bicycle repairman class too–everytime I have a blowout, I vow to sign up. And then I don’t!
    I had to laugh about your heat sayings, especially the one about the goat’s butt in the pepper patch, because just yesterday at work we had a conversation about flamin’ hot cheetos and what they do to a person’s behind… LOL…google it, because apparently, it’s a thing.

    Like

  6. I see it this way: having to STOP if you are cycling up a hill is so much harder than if you are running — especially if you are clipped in. Please scootch over so I can make it up the hill without stopping and falling over and wrecking my knee in the process. 🙂

    Like

  7. MB Jackson says:

    Hotter than a witches tit! LOL! You have been tearing up those miles! Way to go! If I put my ass on a bicycle seat, my body would be like, WTH? Proud of you!

    Like

Share your thoughts

