This Week’s Gallivantin’: Winding Down Summer

Instead of lazily lingering as they did when I was growing up, the ‘dog days of summer’ are just racing right on by! July is history, we are already a week into August and it’s time for another Weekly Wrap with Holly, Tricia and guest hostess Heather at 3 Black Cat Co.

If you are new to my blog and not familiar with the Weekly Wrap, let me just say that you have stumbled into a great group of women who link up each week for the sole purpose of encouraging, motivating and keeping one another accountable on our fitness journeys. Please join us!

While the week, for the most part, was uneventful, I’m pleased with the quality of my workouts. I’m not sure what to attribute it to, but I’m thrilled to report that over the past month, I’ve lost 6 pounds! Is is the fact that I’m not dealing with those insatiable ‘rungries’ in the absence of any significant running miles? Is it the variety of workouts keeping my body guessing and the furnace burning? Or could it be the replenishment of hormones my body had been lacking? I don’t know, but whatever it is ….I’m thrilled to be able to button some of my shorts and slacks without having to suck in my gut to the point of oxygen deprivation. #simplegoals

Here’s how my week of workouts looked:

This Week’s Workouts:

  • Monday: 3 mile treadmill run
  • Tuesday: BodyPump / 10.5 cycling
  • Wednesday: Rest
  • Thursday: 50 min Spin class (13 mi) / Abs & Core
  • Friday: 20 min Stairmill / 20 min Elliptical (2 mi) …this was a fun date night with Major Hubs
  • Saturday: BodyPump

As I said …it was a less than stellar week in the workout department. While I did workout 5 out of 7 days, they were all indoors. Only 5 running miles and 23 cycling. Lexi was in the shop from Wednesday to Saturday preventing me from getting in some longer outdoor rides as well as the 62 mile organized ride I was planning on doing Saturday morning. I’ll admit, I was a little bummed at first, but the day spent with Major Hubs was much more enjoyable. I sweet talked him into going to the Saturday morning BodyPump class with me, Mexican and margaritas for lunch followed by furniture shopping. While I may not have walked away with a finisher medal, I did walk away with a new dining room table ….not a bad trade-off!

The college boy finished up his summer classes and will be home for the week before heading back to begin the fall semester. The high schooler starts back on Friday and is quite possibly in denial since he still has not completed his summer reading assignment. I really can’t blame him, forced reading assignments would not be my idea of how I’d like to spend my summer either! With the oldest living in the ‘real world’, i.e. full time job and his own apartment, we decided to get together Sunday evening for a little ‘grilling and chilling’ before everyone scatters once again. It’s always a special treat to have them all in my nest, even if for a short time!

IMG_20170806_202050_962

How can it be that my ‘baby’ is actually the tallest??? L to R ….oldest, youngest, me and the middle boy.  They may outgrow your lap, but they never outgrow your heart.

Earlier Sunday morning, we had a little encounter with an unwelcome back-yard guest! Major Hubs went outside to feed Chester boy only to find that someone, okay it was me, had failed to put the lid back on the dog food storage container allowing a nasty looking (and smelling) little critter to crawl inside and feast on the food. 20170806_070135

I’m just so thankful that Major Hubs discovered this rather than me! I’m usually the one who does the dog feeding during the week and more often than not, I don’t even look inside before sticking my hand in there! I have no doubt that I would have seriously injured myself if I had been the one to discover him. I have to say ….this is the first time I’ve seen a ‘possum up close and personal and they are even more ugly in person and they are rancid smelling!

….and that’s a wrap! In case you missed them, earlier this week I posted a product review of the HeartZones, Inc. Blink HR monitor and on Saturday, I had a great time catching up with everyone at the Ultimate Coffee Date with Coco and Deborah.

The next few weeks will be crazy hectic but fun and exciting for the Bird’s as we are headng to Hawaii for our summer vacation, closing on our new house and I’ll be guest hosting the Weekly Wrap. It’s gonna be a wild ride …..so stay tuned!

Be sure to visit our Weekly Wrap hostesses blogs and as many others as you can, drop a line and share the love! WWGuest-Heather

Have you ever seen a ‘possum? Ever had any unusual back-yard guests? Have you ever lost weight simply by switching your workouts up? What is the deal with the ‘rungries’? 

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one workout at a time!

26 thoughts on “This Week’s Gallivantin’: Winding Down Summer

  1. I have your 6 pounds!! I have gained that much in July…I will never be a frail looking little old person anyway, I battle getting round.
    That is fabulous you are losing, it gives you a little boost of motivation πŸ™‚
    I have seen a possum up close several times, they really aren’t purdy lol We had one that lived in our yard forever…I think he hung around because he could smell cat food.

    Like

    • Haha! Not to worry Karen, I’m sure those 6 pounds will find their way back to me before long…. probably while on vacation in Hawaii in a couple of weeks!! πŸ™‚ But yes, it has given me a little boost of motivation to keep up with my strength training as that’s the first thing I always stop when life gets busy.

      Like

  2. I’ve got to say, you definitely don’t look like you needed to lose any weight, but it’s always nice when it’s a surprise!
    I love to read — I probably would’ve been right through those books, but back in the day, no one assigned homework over the summer — thank God!
    You have lots of fun stuff to look forward to! Enjoy Hawaii! It’s fabulous.

    Like

  3. Great job this week even if you didn’t get outside much! And kudos to you for getting Major Hubs to a workout class. My hubs isn’t in to that so I have to go solo. But maybe he could be persuaded by the promise of post-workout margaritas and Mexican! lol

    Like

  4. What a handsome bunch of fellas! Congrats on those 6 pounds. I think I may need to check on hormone replenishment. I have zero energy most days. I’m sorry you missed the metric ride. Can you believe our century will be here soon? I think we need to register in August? While trying to trap squirrels, we trapped a possum. Mean little suckers!

    Like

  5. We occasionally see possums in our back yard, but we see raccoons all the time! They love our deck and keep muddy little footprints on it all winter long as they walk across it during the night.

    Have a fun time in Hawaii!

    Like

  6. AHHHH – I would have freaked out about a possum! We have critters (I think raccoons) that get into our compost bin – I think we’re going to have to invest in a different system that is more off the ground.
    Even though my brother and I are long grown, I still look forward to Sunday night dinners at my parents house. They don’t happen as once as they once did – but I still appreciate them!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts

