Weekly Wrap: Aloha Style!

Aloha and Welina (welcome) to the Weekly Wrap! I am so honored to be the guest hostess this week for our fabulous hostesses Tricia and Holly, who are taking a much-needed summer break. Did you know they are celebrating their two year anniversary for the Weekly Wrap link-up? That’s right, for two years, 104 weeks, they have been supporting, encouraging and promoting women in their fitness endeavors! So, please be sure to stop by their blogs and wish them a much deserved ‘Happy Anniversary and Thank You’! WWGuest-Teresa

If you are new to the link-up, here are the rules. We’d love to have you join in on all the fun ….so link-up, comment on the hostesses’ posts and as many others as you can; you just never know when you will make a connection to last a lifetime!

Yes, I’ve missed quite a bit in the ‘blogging world’ the past couple of weeks …but hey, I’ve been busy! If you’ve been following me, you know that I’ve kind-of, sort-of taken a break from running this summer (thank you Mississippi heat and humidity) and have been focusing on cycling and strength training. Holly and I have this little ‘ride-cation’ planned in which we will do either a century or metric century ride….it’s a woman’s prerogative to change her mind at any time, right? And remember my last Weekly Wrap post I disclosed that I had lost 6 pounds? Well, I found them ….in Hawaii. What can I say other than ….when in Hawaii, eat as the islanders do …and so I did! We had a fabulous time on the island of Oahu this past week soaking up the culture of the locals, taking in some of the most incredible ocean views and no running whatsoever. I packed my running shoes and had the best intentions of getting a couple of runs in ….but it just didn’t happen. However, when you have an entire island to explore ….there are other ways to stay active.

Sunday:  21,505 steps walking   We flew in on Saturday, relaxed on our semi-private beach and hit the hay at 8:30…. such party animals, we are! Seriously though, that 5 hours time difference hits you hard, especially when you’re old farts like us. We took advantage of our bodies still being on Central Standard time and woke up bright and early Sunday morning for a full day at Pearl Harbor. Obviously, with Major Hubs being a military guy, this was a must-see, so we tackled it right away.  Walking, walking and more walking. My step counter registered over 21,000 steps (almost 10 miles) by the end of the day!

DSCF2530

However, I was rewarded with a kiss!

Monday: 14,177 steps walking/hiking  Before taking a coastal drive to the North Shore of Oahu, we hiked the Makapu’u Lighthouse Trail. An easy short, yet steep, climb to the top rewarded us with an incredible view of the windward coast as well as the historic lighthouse built in 1909. {1 mile/500 ft elevation gain – one way}

DSCF2641DSCF2638DSCF2649

Tuesday: 10,863 steps walking/hiking  After an incredible helicopter tour, we hiked the Judd Trail. This hike was much different from all of our other Oahu hikes as this one more of a ‘jungle’ feel. Surrounded by bamboo, cook pines and eucalyptus, it was a welcome retreat from the hustle and bustle of some of the more popular hikes. With an elevation gain of only 200 ft, the real challenge was the mud and tree roots running in every direction under every step taken. {1.6 miles/259 ft elevation}DSCF2769

Wednesday; 12,898 steps walking/hiking  Among a myriad of other activities, we tackled the Lanikai Pillbox Trail. Steep, rocky and sometimes treacherous climb to the second ‘pillbox’ but the 360 degree views below are well worth the glute and quad burn! The trail is steep from the very beginning with ropes tied to trees to aid in climbing. Once you reach the first ‘pillbox’, you must walk the mountain ridge and climb even more steep and rocky terrain to reach the second ‘pillbox’. Coming back down? Yes, it was quicker yet more dangerous…. I slipped a couple of times, a mountain goat, I am not! {.84 mile/565 ft elevation gain – one way}

DSCF2801

Climbing, climbing and climbing…

DSCF2800

….Half way to the top

DSCF2805

…more climbing!

DSCF2803

….almost there

DSCF2813

We made it!

DSCF2825

…sat for a while to take in the incredible view!

Thursday: 7,631 steps walking/hiking  We had to tackle the famous Diamond Head hike before catching our flight home. Being the single most popular hike on Oahu, I knew it would be covered with tourists and to be honest, was avoiding it like the plague for that very reason. While I most definitely could have done without the hoards of tourists, the view of Honolulu and Waikiki did not disappoint and the 99 steps at the top was a nice little glute burn! {.81 mile/635 ft elevation – one way}

DSCF2900

Switchback trail along the inside of the crater…

DSCF2915

…at least this one is paved.

DSCF2914

200 ft very narrow tunnel…

DSCF2913

When you exit the tunnel, you have 99 steps to climb….

diamondhead1

…and then a spiral staircase

DSCF2905

..all leading to this beautiful view of Honolulu

DSCF2908

and Waikiki shoreline below

Friday: 4,831 steps trekking through airports   After flying all night Thursday, we arrived at Chicago O’Hare at 4:30 am Friday morning (we had to change our connecting flight from Houston thanks to Hurricane Harvey).  As hard as I tried to sleep on that plane, it just wasn’t happening. With all the different positions I contorted my body into trying to find something even remotely comfortable, I felt as if I had endured an 8 hour Ashtanga Yoga class. So ….I think that counts as ‘activity’ and you really don’t want to tell a 50-year-old menopausal sleep-deprived woman otherwise! I caught two hours of sleep in a freezing cold ORD while waiting on our connecting flight and finally arrived home to the old familiar heat and humidity around noon. We picked up Chester boy, caught a quick nap and promptly headed to the attorney’s office to close on our new house! Living life on the edge, right?!

20170824_233523

Good morning Chicago!

Saturday:  I really had the best intentions of getting a run in this morning …but you know what they say about the best intentions. However, the jet lag won out and I slept until 9:30 am! Say what? I think I must’ve been in college the last time I slept that late. So instead of getting a workout in, I spent the day unpacking and entertaining the in-laws.

Vacation (def) ….a period of suspension of work, study, or other activity, usually used for rest or recreation.  Mission accomplished!

DSCF2790.JPGJust as sure as the sun rises and sets, all vacations must come to an end and as Monday morning rolls around, I’ll be more than ready to put some miles on Lexi and lace up the old running shoes again.

….and that’s a wrap! Mahalo (thank you) for stopping by and a special ‘thanks’ to Holly and Tricia for entrusting me with their baby! Be sure to link-up below and mingle with other bloggers. If you’re new to my blog ….welcome and please visit again! You can follow me on Instagram, Twitter and Facebook…. I’d love to connect with you!

I’ll be writing another post detailing all of our other Oahu adventures a little later on, so be sure to follow me if you’re interested!

Have you been to Hawaii? Which island(s)? Did you hike any of these trails? Any tips to sleeping on long flights? 

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one week at a time!

 

 

wpimg

76 thoughts on “Weekly Wrap: Aloha Style!

  1. I have never been to Hawaii but now I definitely want to visit – your photos are incredible! I also love that you were able to get in so many steps exploring the island every day.

    Like

    • I’d love to see Maui, but I don’t know if I want to tackle that flight again anytime soon. Guess I’m just getting old. lol

      Yes to the neck pain! Holly said she never has problems with it so I even went for a second ‘bike setup adjustment’. While it helped, it didn’t take it away completely. And it’s usually around that 25 mile mark that it starts to get really aggrivating. I’m not sure how I’m going to do 100! (maybe I’ll just go for the metric!)

      Like

  2. Looks like a marvelous vacation! Oahu is the island we spent the least amount of time on, although we did visit Pearl Harbor. We’ve been to all the 4 larger islands, with Kauia being our favorite. Last time we were there we rented an apartment and I walked or ran along the cliffs every.single.morning to catch the sunrises. They were stunning!

    I think you got plenty of exercise. And when you’re not actively training for anything — of course you have to explore!

    HI is a loooong flight. Especially from NY! But the open air airport is kind of cool (I don’t remember if it’s that way on Oahu, of course we never flew in there, but the kauia airport is part open air.

    Like

    • Yes, Honolulu International is an open airport as well. It really was neat. Although when we arrived there, it was the hottest and most humid day of the week and I was dying. But when we departed, it was nice and breezy. It felt fabulous …then we landed in Chicago where I thought I’d freeze my tail off! πŸ™‚

      I’d love to visit a couple of the other islands with active volcanos but not sure I want to endure that flight again for a while.

      Like you, we stayed about 30 miles to the east of Waikiki in a cottage behind a family home. It was wonderful to be away from all of the tourists. We were literally just steps away from a private beach and could totally immerse ourselves in the culture of how the locals live.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Oh, wow, those pics are amazing. I used to be stressed over getting in my workouts on vacation, but not anymore. Plus, all that hiking!! Fantastic. Thanks for guest-hosting!

    Like

    • Thanks Coco! I’ll admit that a couple of times I felt guilty for not getting up early and getting a run in knowing that it would be a beautiful run. However, with our jam-packed days …the guilt didn’t last long! πŸ™‚

      Like

  4. Thank you for hosting this week! Your pictures are amazing!! Looks like you really enjoyed all that Hawaii has to offer. The trails are just beautiful.

    I hate long flights! I’m not sure if sleeping makes it any better….usually when I do that I wake up with terrible ear pain.

    Like

    • Thank you Sara! Short of taking sleeping pills (which I do not want to do), I just can’t get comfortable enough to sleep. I told the hubs that next time we travel over seas, we’ll just have to budget for first class seating! πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. It’s been a blast following all of your Hawaii pics! The hubby did a couple of “training” gigs there (in Honolulu) when he was still in the Guard, so he had me fly out for a long weekend (both times). We even renewed our vows on the beach on the most recent trip there ( 8 or 9 years ago, I think). Such a beautiful place!!

    Like

    • Oh wow! That’s awesome Kim! We stayed in a cottage behind a family’s home about 30 miles east of Waikiki on a mostly private beach. The homeowner officiates weddings and vow renewals ….wouldn’t it be neat if he was the one who officiated yours!! πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Looks like an amazing trip! I love Hawaii. I hiked Diamond Head when we were in Oahu in 2013 for our honeymoon. I also went to Maui last year with my in-laws. The time difference and long flight are tough, but SO worth it!

    Like

  7. I was at Oahu in 2006 and then Kauai’i in 2007. The first morning in Oahu was perfect for hiking Diamond Head. We got there when the trail opened so those of us up there first could watch the sun rise.

    Like

  8. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    I think those 6 pounds might be worth the price for such a fantastic week! I have only been on the Big Island, but your pics make me want to go to Oahu!

    Like

  9. We honeymooned in Kauai, but now I’m ready to go to Oahu πŸ˜‰ I would love to travel with you…all that hiking and exploring sounds perfect, ha!

    My best tip for sleeping on long flights (lots of practice with 16+ hours from Hong Kong to US) is to get the seats behind the wall that separates the sections (and extra leg room if you can). Then I use my carry-on as a footrest, lean back and sleep!

    Like

    • Hmmmm, I’ll keep that in mind for our next overseas trip! I actually paid for the extra leg room seats but they were not the ones facing the sectional wall. My neck was the problem ….every time I’d fall asleep, I’d wake up with a terrible pain in the neck! It’s got to be old age! haha!

      Like

  10. Sounds like a great time in Oahu! The Judd trail looks cool. I’ve been to Oahu and remember that lighthouse and hiking Diamond Head. It was a long time ago and I remember going to Pearl Harbor and Hanauma bay.

    Like

  11. Certainly looks like you’ve stayed busy! My sister was to Hawaii last year and she did some hike that was an old rail car trail I think. It was very high. I’m going to go back and look what the name of it was.
    I didn’t realize there was so much hiking to be had in Hawaii!

    Like

    • She did Koko Head trail! We had that on our list but simply ran out of time. There really is so much hiking to do on Oahu! The Koko Head trail you are talking about is very similar to the Manitou Incline in Colorado Springs which we did several years ago….. very tough climb!

      Like

  12. Wow! You did so many great hikes. Makes me want to convince my husband to go to Hawaii. I went once many years ago when I was in my early 20s. I don’t think we did any hiking. 😦

    Like

  13. Beautiful photos! And it looks like you guys were pretty active based on those step counts πŸ™‚ I’m planning a trip to Hawaii in November and am getting pretty excited about it.

    Like

  14. I’ve never been but your photos look so beautiful!! I absolutely love the swing photo.
    I love vacations like that, that involve a lot of activity, I don’t miss running if I am on my feet all day πŸ™‚
    Looks like a dream trip! Glad you had a wonderful time. xo
    I can not sleep on a plane either!

    Like

  15. Those photos look AMAZING – Hawaii is definitely on my travel bucket list! It’s great you were able to keep active with all of those hikes! I really like the picture of you sitting looking out on the sea – it’s a great perspective!

    Like

    • Haha! I can understand that! I was surprised to find that it was just as hot and humid as it is here in Mississippi ….unless, of course, you were on or near the beaches. I guess I expected it to be warm but thought it’d be more breezy.

      Like

  16. I was in Hawaii in 2014 and vividly remember the Diamond Head Hike. I know we did others, but none of the ones you posted seem familiar.

    I had a layover at O’Hare last night and it was FREEZING. What the heck! All I wanted to do was catch some peace & quiet before my flight. But there was none of that either!

    Like

  17. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    Wow, thank you for sharing your amazing photos from your trip! Hawaii has been on my bucket list for so long and your pictures make me want to plan a trip ASAP! I’m glad you had a wonderful time!

    Like

  18. therightfits says:

    Wonderful photos! It looks like you had a great trip. Oahu is the only island that I have never been to in Hawaii and it looks like I’m missing out. So many fun things to do!

    Like

  19. Aaaah! Your trip looks amazing. I’ve loved seeing all your pics! It’s been 13 years since we were last in Hawaii and we are long overdue to go back!

    Like

  20. You may not have gotten in an official run while on the island but dang you sure had an active vacation! I enjoyed each and every one of your pictures. Those views were just amazing!
    So did you close on your old house or is this a new one???
    I have no advice at all on anything to do with a plane! Only one trip in the air I’m going to need some advice soon!
    Thanks for taking over the WW! Your such a pro are you sure you don’t want to do this full time !!! ???

    Like

  21. Your vacation looks amazing! We went on a vacation last year and I logged so many steps. I did not run on my vacation but logged more steps just from walking than I usually did running 6-7 miles most days. Plus, we only go on vacation occasionally and our bodies sometimes just need a break from a structured workout- so it’s worth taking it. I’m glad you had a wonderful time.

    Like

  22. That trip looked awesome. I love being active like that on vacation. Seriously, where are the relaxing pictures of laying on the beach? Sure hope you got enough of that! Your pictures really make me want to go back soon!!! I have a big picture of that lighthouse in my boys’ bathroom that I took in Hawaii.

    Like

  23. Thank you so much for being our very gracious hostess this week! I hope you found a few new connections! You were quite the active lady on your vacation. I would definitely consider it a week of cross training! Your pictures are so pretty – it makes me want to visit. And I love that one of you in the swing. I slept on both flights coming home from Utah. I simply could NOT keep my head up. LOL

    Like

Share your thoughts

