Ultimate Coffee Date: September Edition

While the days, weeks and months are ticking by ….we find ourselves on the cusp of Fall. With that comes all of the excitement of everything pumpkin, fall races and another edition of the Ultimate Coffee Date with Coco and DeborahPlease stop by our fabulous hostesses for a ‘virtual’ coffee date and share what you’ve been up to and are looking forward to over the next month. So, grab your favorite coffee cup, pull up a chair and let’s catch up!

Ultimate Coffee Date.jpg

Our cottage came complete with these adorable pineapple coffee mugs. Aloha!

If we were having coffee….

I’d tell you that I’m still reveling in our trip to Oahu, Hawaii! Whenever we travel, we try to stay away from the touristy areas and really immerse ourselves in the lifestyle of the locals. While on the beautiful island of Oahu, we stayed in a cottage attached to a family home in Waimanalo, about 40 minutes east of Waikiki. It was centrally located for all of the activities we wanted to do and the mostly private beach we had made for the perfect respite every evening after a busy day of exploring.

If we were having coffee….

I’d tell you that in true ‘Bird style’, we do love living life on the edge, we closed on our new house a mere 5 hours after our return flight from Hawaii. Thank goodness we had no flight delays! This week has been filled with furniture shopping, painting, phone calls, meeting carpet cleaners, fence companies, etc…. Today we will start the actual moving process. The good news is that we don’t have to be out of our rental until the end of the month, so we can take our time. The other good news is that frequent moves forces one to purge a lot of unnecessary “stuff” so hopefully, this move won’t be nearly as time-consuming as previous ones. One can dream, right?

If we were having coffee….

I’d tell you that while the majority of my time these days is devoted to this move, I have gotten a few workouts in ….namely, the HIIT class that I’ve had a long-standing love/hate relationship with. Well, actually, it’s the instructor that I have this love/hate relationship with. She loves to torture us and I hate her. Major Hubs and I attended such class on Wednesday evening and she made us do 5 solid minutes of a burpee/situp combo. My sore is sore. She’s evil …pure evil.evilfitnessinstructor

If we were having coffee….

I’d tell you that I have been having a really crazy thought for quite some time now. It’s something I’ve always dreamed of doing ever since I started my running journey but honestly have really never thought my body could pull me through. (I have a couple of physical ‘limitations’ that make running a little more challenging than the average person) However, I don’t like to use this as a crutch or for sympathy. I’ve pushed my body to do things most doctors have said I’d never be able to do and I am more than grateful for what I have accomplished in the 11 years I’ve been running. But you know how we runners are….. always wanting to push ourselves a little harder, further and to that next step, that next bigger goal. So, with that being said ….Extra, Extra! Read All About It!.jpg

I’m still not convinced my body will let me do this, but what have I got to lose, right? Training for December’s Panama City Beach half marathon starts next week, so now is as good a time as any to attempt a full by building on that and running a full in January. While I’m not so sure about this, Major Hubs and Coach HoHo is convinced I can do this and I think if anyone can get me to that finish line, Holly can!

Wish me luck, follow along and thanks for having coffee with me! Also, I’d like to thank Tricia and Holly for allowing me to guest host for their Weekly Wrap link this past week. If you missed it, you can read it here. Also, if you’re one of those runners, like me, who thinks every ‘odd’ looking character you meet while running is a serial killer …..then you really should read my product review of the Wearsafe Tagthe-ultimate-coffee-date2-1-600x600

 

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one cup of coffee at a time!

29 thoughts on “Ultimate Coffee Date: September Edition

  1. We use VRBO when we travel and have stayed in some very interesting off-the-beaten-path places. We enjoy that so much more than a hotel and with big “kids” in tow, we have so much more room to spread out. I’m so excited to be working with you and Major Hubs. The marathon is a huge undertaking. But, the reward will be even bigger!

    Like

    • We’ve used VRBO as well and this time we used “Home Away”. It’s the only way to stay in my opinion!

      We’re looking forward to working with Coach HO as well! Be patient …I’m slow and injury prone and while Major Hubs is pretty fast, he’s not into running ‘stats” 🙂

      Like

  2. WOOT!!!!! I thought I saw something (on Insta?) eluding to 26.2, but I didn’t have time to think it through or ask about it. January is a perfect time…as you said, you can just coast right into that following the Panama City half….YOU totally can do it!! Geesh…now I’m jealous LOL Even if I can spank 13.1 in Vegas in November, though, a 26.2 challenge will not be happening any time soon. I’m not THAT jealous 😉

    Like

    • Thanks Kim! I’m glad you have confidence in me, because I have serious doubts!! I may end up walking half of it….. but hey, that’s okay because it’s all about crossing that finish line!

      Will you be at PCB? I’m looking forward to meeting more blogging friends!!

      Like

  3. Which marathon are you picking? I’ll be cheering you along!
    I’m moving to a new office and packing up my current office is bad enough. I can’t imagine moving from our house. We need to purge.

    Like

  4. Your trip to Hawaii sounds so amazing! I can’t believe you closed on a house so soon after returning from vacation!! I hope the move goes well. How exciting to tackle the full marathon? Which one will you be doing? Looking forward to your marathon journey.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know, right??? We’re a glutton for punishment apparently.

      We have two we are looking at and will decide a little later. I’m extremely nervous about taking on this challenge ….prayers and good vibes are more than welcomed! 🙂

      Like

  5. Karen @ Fit in France says:

    I really enjoyed your Hawaii pictures on IG, I can see why you loved it. A marathon ? Good for you ! I have loved working with Holly. The runs feel challenging, but doable and she is so positive, upbeat and encouraging. Looking forward to following your journey !

    Like

  6. There you go — didn’t take long to succumb to the call of 26.2, eh? Do you have a specific race in mind? I wish you luck in the journey!

    And good luck with the move. When we lived in TX we moved from an apartment to a house — that was definitely the easiest move we’ve ever made. It’s nice to be able to do a little at a time (and it was only a couple of miles from our apartment, too).

    Like

  7. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    Your Hawaii vacation sounds absolutely amazing. I need to make a trip there as soon as I can…I can’t imagine how wonderful it was to be surrounded by such natural beauty!
    Ooh how exciting you’re going to train for a marathon and working with Holly! I’m sure you’ll do great!!

    Like

Share your thoughts

