Marathon Training Week 1: See Sloth Run

Week one of marathon training complete. Yes, I know, I have a long way to go and the first week of marathon training really is no different from the first week of half marathon training, right? Well, maybe on paper ..but mentally, I’m finding that it’s already a different animal. My mindset is different, my goals are different and my fears are different. I mean, I know that I can run 13.1 miles because I’ve done it many times. But I don’t know that I can double that distance …heck, I don’t even know that I can run 15 miles, for that matter. However, during one of my training runs this week, I realized that I had all of these same thoughts and fears when I decided to train for my first half because I had never run that distance before either.  I thought about all of the excitement and anticipation I felt while training for that race and how satisfied I felt of such an accomplishment upon crossing that finish line and I’ll be honest ….it stirred my ‘running soul’ and brought it back to life! This time, I’m on the other side of 50 …older, stiffer and slower but I’m just as determined and excited to tackle a new goal, to push myself beyond anything I’ve ever done and hopefully cross a new finish line!

With that being said, instead of focusing on what I’m not sure I can do, I’m {trying hard} to focus on what I can do each week ….as Coach HoHo says, baby steps.  So let’s take a look at the ‘baby steps’ I took this week on my road to 26.2.26.2

Monday:

On the plan: 4 easy miles

Actual: 4 not so easy miles, 11:14/10:54/11:25/11:03

Labor Day morning run with Major Hubs and Chester. There was a time when ‘easy’ miles for him were also ‘easy’ miles for me. Not so anymore. This wasn’t a terrible run though and it felt good to push myself to keep up with him. I could tell that I was holding him back even for an easy run. A truly easy run for him would be more in the 10 min per mile pace and I really appreciate that he places more value on the opportunities we have to run together than his pace.

PicsArt_09-04-06.14.04

…..anyone else accidentally run with your reading glasses overhead? #oldladyprobs

Tuesday: 

Cross-training / 45 min. elliptical

Wednesday: 

On the plan: 4 easy miles with 90 sec. pick-ups

Actual: 4 miles w/ pickups / Avg pace 11:19

This was actually a fun run and it felt good to get these old legs turning over a little faster even if for a few minutes. I realized that the last race I did for speed was a 10k in May! That’s a long time to go without ‘picking up the pace’ …no wonder I feel like the tin man!

Thursday: 

Cross-training / Tire flipping x 50

With everything we have going on with the move, my strength training routine is suffering. It was a beautiful and unusually crisp cool morning here in the south, so I decided to get an old school back yard workout in before going to the new house to get started on a little painting.IMG_20170907_100559_914 (1)

Friday:

I really wanted to get a bike ride in, but had all sorts of ‘appointments’ at the new house to meet install guys, fence guys and finish painting. So ….I’m counting all of the painting as my arm, back and shoulder workout for the day. If you haven’t painted in a while, let me just say ….it counts!20170908_134515

Saturday:

On the plan: 5 easy miles at a comfortable pace

Actual: 5 easy miles at a three-toed sloth’s pace / Avg pace 12:01

PicsArt_09-09-10.36.56Dang! I have to admit, this run sucked …and not because I was struggling. Quite the contrary, I actually felt okay during this run and thought I was running in the 11 min pace range…. slow and easy. I was so frustrated when I finished and saw my finish time of 1:00:13! What the hell??? I’ve run 10ks much faster than that before! This was a sobering run for me and made me realize several things:

  • my summer hiatus from running is coming at a cost
  • while I may enjoy evening runs …..my older, menopausal body prefers morning runs when the energy levels are highest and the temps are cooler.
  • as hard as I try to not think about pace ….I still let it define me.

For some, anything slower than an 8 min mile is slow, others it may be 9 min mile, for me even 11 min miles have been hard to swallow but I have accepted them the past year or so as I’ve dealt with injuries and hormonal changes. But 12 min miles is just humbling. But, hey, it provides room for improvement, right? Bring on week two Coach Ho!

In other news:

Stride Box you’ve done it again! How did you know that I’ve been loving all things Skratch lately? And the S’mores flavored Gu will be perfect for a crisp cool fall long run! 20170908_190933

Also, did you know that Legend Compression Wear sells military grade tactical compression boot socks? They are military approved for all branches and approved for all first responders.  As an ambassador, I purchased a few pair for Major Hubs and I’m happy to report that after trying them out during Guard duty this weekend, he loves them! Be sure to send all of your military and first responder friends and family over to their website to check them out! #rightnottight #BeaLegend20170905_171045

WWGuest-Sara…and that’s a wrap, thanks for stopping by! As usual, I’m linking up with Holly, Tricia and guest hostess, Sara from Sara Runs This Town for the Weekly Wrap. Be sure to visit these ladies and leave a comment. We are all here to support, encourage and inspire one another in all of our fitness endeavors!

To everyone in the path of Hurricane Irma, know that you are in our thoughts and prayers!

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one run at a time!

 

44 thoughts on “Marathon Training Week 1: See Sloth Run

  1. I’m proud of you for tackling this week’s training head on. When you are training for your first marathon (EEK!) miles are miles. It doesn’t matter if they are 9 minutes or 12 minutes. Crossing that finish line healthy and strong is the goal. A faster than expected pace? Well, that would be just gravy on the ol’ biscuit. I think you will be pleasantly surprised when you run in cooler weather anyway. And I agree about afternoon runs. Blech!

    Like

  2. I’m so excited for you! One of my favorite quotes:
    It always seems impossible until it is done.

    And trust me you will get it done! Great first week of work. It will get easier as you re-adjust to your running. Can’t wait to hear more!

    Like

  3. I can understand how week 1 of marathon training feels different, even if the runs are the same! Every once in a while my pace plummets for a few weeks and I don’t know why. It is discouraging but all you can do is embrace the suck and get through it. All new house stuff is exhausting!

    Like

  4. Darlene says:

    I try not to think about pace. It is humbling for sure. My 12 mile run this weekend was an hour slower than the 11 mile one I ran with a partner last weekend. Yes an hour slower. Geez!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I feel you. These slower paces are really hard to take. I don’t care what everyone says–I want my speed back. I’m sure you do too. But I will say that marathon training is best done slow. So hey, maybe that’s to your advantage? Sigh. We need to discuss over wine.

    Like

  6. This is gonna be SO exciting…not only for you, but for the rest of us to stand back and high-5 you (virtually) as you reach all of these weekly goals 😉 I’m really curious what my paces will feel like when I get back out there in the running shoes…it’s gonna be humbling, I expect.

    Like

  7. I knew it wouldn’t be long before you joined the marathon club even though you said you never ever would lol. You will do fine and just remember you won’t be able to run a marathon until you toe to like that day. Meaning there were many many times during those longer than 13 mile runs I questioned if I could do it. The answer was not today. Today I had to what was on the plan. Stick with it and you will be ready.

    Like

  8. Hooray for a new training cycle – how exciting! Great job on your first week of training!
    I’m so excited to follow your journey! You will have doubts along the way, but as you ramp up the mileage, you will gain so much confidence.

    Like

  9. I struggle with talking about pace. My speedy 11 miles? 12:08. Don’t ask me why I’m so slow, I’ve certainly put in the work over the years, but at leas there’s been improvement the last few years. And my shorter easy runs can often be a lot slower, too!

    But that’s the thing: you are just at the beginning. You didn’t run a lot during the summer. All of that is okay. Your’e going to see improvement. And of course, there’s always the proverbial finish lines, not finish times. The first one shouldn’t be about the time!

    Like

    • I completely understand where you are coming from. What makes some people faster than others? Sometimes it gets so frustrating that I can’t run faster but like you said …in the whole scheme of things, I’m really just thankful for every day I’m able to run no matter how slow it is. Thanks for the encouragement Judy!

      Liked by 1 person

  10. Rachel says:

    I just got my StrideBox today! Everything looks so awesome in it.

    You’re going to do really well with marathon training. It’s a different beast, yes. But you can run 13.1 miles. I bet you didn’t think you could do that before you did it, right? Same thing applies here. It’s only scary because you’ve never done it before. Firsts of everything are always scary! But you’ve got this!!!

    Like

  11. Try not to overthink and judge the quality of these first weeks. At the end of the day you just need to cover the distance. Trust me your body will step up and adapt to the increases in mileage. Getting your head wrapped around each new distance is what’s most important. You CAN do this!

    Like

  12. Janelle @ Run With No Regrets says:

    I think your first week of marathon training had a great start! And flipping tires? No big deal, lol! I look forward to following your progress 🙂

    Like

  13. Jennifer @ Dashing in Style says:

    Congrats on a great first week of training! I run at a slower pace than you, but I’ve reached a very happy place where I’m totally okay with it. My goal these days is to run happy instead of faster. 🙂

    Like

  14. Okay pretty lady I’ve been there running some very humbling paces- ran them all summer, and trying to break my body out of that was painful for a few weeks. It still isn’t happening as fast as I like, but it will happen. My easy pace honestly hasn’t improved much but when I am supposed to pick it up I can make it happen 🙂 YOu will too!! Your tire flipping is flipping impressive!!

    Like

Share your thoughts

