Ultimate Coffee Date: October Edition

The months are flying by and the calendar says it’s Fall, yet it feels as though we are stuck in a perpetual state of ‘summer’. It’s the first Saturday of the month, I’ve finished my long run and poured myself a cup of coffee with a shot of Bailey’s Irish Cream ….this can only mean one thing. It’s time for the Ultimate Coffee Date with Deborah and Coco! So grab a cup of coffee, with or without Bailey’s, no one’s judging …and join us!

Ultimate Coffee Date (1)

If we were having coffee ….

….I’d tell you that Holly is seriously considering riding another century this next weekend in her hometown and I really want to join her for yet another tushie torturing 100 miles …what the hell is wrong with me? I mean, it took me almost a solid week to completely recover from that first DAM century ride, why would I even remotely consider doing it again …and so soon, at that. What’s really funny about it is that it’s not the miles and hours on a bike that will keep me from going, but rather the 4.5 hour drive in the car that seems dreadful enough to keep me home. Besides, I do have a marathon to train for …hello?? Those miles aren’t going to run themselves.

If we were having coffee ….

….I’d tell you that we are just about settled in our new house and I’ve survived yet another move. If they gave out medals for moves, I’d have some serious bling hanging on my walls. The most exciting thing regarding the move that finally came to fruition this week was our fence was installed. OMG! I don’t think I’ve ever been so dang happy about having to spend thousands of dollars on a bunch of iron posts before in my life! Well, actually, I’ve never had to buy a fence before as all the houses I’ve ever lived in already had fences …so, obviously I’ve taken them for granted. Let me explain …. our dog, Chester, is a Labrador. A good-sized dog = good-sized poop. I’ve also never lived in a city where there are signs everywhere pleading with threatening dog owners to pick up their dog’s poop. So for three weeks now, I’ve had to take said large dog out for multiple walks per day with a bag in order to pick up rather large piles of poop. I know, I know, many of you are shocked that I find this an utterly ridiculous required act. I mean, the stuff is biodegradable and can serve as fertilizer for one’s yard, for Pete’s sake.  Anyway, I took Chester for a 3 mile run one morning, with my little plastic poop bag, in the hopes that he wouldn’t have to ‘go’ while running. Well, I was wrong ..apparently running actually gets ‘things moving’ for him, not once but twice! Seriously dude? I only have one bag and I’m not opening one once it’s been sealed! Ugh. No more running with Chester after that. We stuck with short walks and headed back to the house once the ‘deed’ was done. Our new fence is my most favorite feature of our house now and the sting of the price tag has been totally soothed by a ‘sack of dog poop’!dogpoop

If we were having coffee …

…I’d tell you that, as I mentioned earlier, while we’re still dealing with the dreadful heat and humidity, (my sweat was sweating this morning on my run) it hasn’t stopped us from pretending it’s Fall. I’ve bought some ‘Mums for my porch, set out my decorative pumpkin and have been baking some of my favorite fall foods. Even our community if celebrating Fall with a “Day in the Country” celebration complete with these guys …..aren’t they just the cutest?20171004_16120620171004_161242

If we were having coffee …

…I’d tell you that it’s time to wrap up this coffee date because it’s time to put on my compression socks, grab some snacks, kick the dog off the couch and settle in for an afternoon and evening of SEC football!bitmoji1880779262

Thanks for stopping by …I always enjoy our little virtual coffee dates! Tell me, what have you been up to this past month?The-Ultimate-Coffee-Date2-e1472303933116 Do you hate driving more than running/cycling? Does it finally feel like Fall in your neck of the woods? Who are you pulling for today in the sports world?

I’m linking up with Coco and Deborah for their monthly Ultimate Coffee Date link. Please do stop by their blogs and as many others as you can to catch up with them, there’s always something exciting going on with these ladies. See ya next month!

 

xoxo,

Finding “Fabulous” at Fifty, one cup of coffee at a time!

26 thoughts on “Ultimate Coffee Date: October Edition

  1. It is starting to feel more like fall, but we are getting a bit of a summer refresher this weekend. It’s supposed to be in the upper 70’s tomorrow! #happydance I actually don’t mind taking our Max for a walk for his “business.” I’d rather have it bagged and gone than scattered throughout our yard….the neighbor’s dog does enough of that LOL

    Like

  2. Ummm… Since there’s no judging, may I have the same drink you’re having, only hold the coffee? 😉

    I’m settled in for an afternoon/night of football, too! There’s nothing like fall Saturday afternoons and football, whether at the game or at home watching on TV. The Hokies are away this weekend so we’re watching from home.

    I hear you on the 4.5 hour drive. That’s a long way sitting on your tushie only to sit on your tushie for another 7-8 hours while on your bike, and then drive home the next day…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Is that 4.5 hours each way? There’s no way I’d do that in one day. We ditched a ride that was 3 hours away for a similar reason. LOL on the poop bag shortage. I might have “borrowed” a newspaper bag off someone’s newspaper before — on a dry morning.

    Like

  4. Yeah, not a super fan of driving, which is why I am eternally grateful for all the ladies that chaffeured me around last weekend. And no, I wouldn’t do that in one day, either. But I get the temptation . . . Holly is evil. 🙂
    I am so LOL about you and picking up the poop. And I could definitely have told you that running does that for dogs. But I use the same poop bag multiple times; little dogs = little poop. Unfortunately, though, Bandit has had ongoing issues in that department since we got him (better at the moment, but that can turn on a dime) and so I always take 2 poop bags with me on a walk. And Lola will go multiple times on a walk, because she seems convinced she can’t poop in our backyard (until it’s winter & you either go or burst . . . sometimes it seems to be a toss up for her, though!).
    We waited almost 6 MONTHS to finish the fence on our backyard when we moved here (it was open on one side). 2 dogs. Total PITA. I get ya.

    Like

  5. Darlene says:

    Same creamer in my coffee today. 🙂

    Yes I HATE driving and I do it for work. Ugh!

    Our weather is crazy. And the foliage colors are not great this year.

    It’s supposed to be in the 80s today. We are going boating! Oh yeah!

    Good luck with your training.

    Like

  6. I said the exact same thing about buying a fence! We had never had one but when we moved to our new house one was a must have or the ability to build one. They are so expensive but so worth the money! Baylee, our English Mastiff, never wants to come in the house now!

    Like

  7. I love that you’re entertaining the idea of another ride…but I’m with you, I’m not a fan of long drives.

    So glad you’ve made it through your move! I keep waiting for it to feel more like fall before I buy mums, but the way things are going I could be waiting a long time!

    Like

  8. I’m late to the party…and I’m sipping wine, so God knows what I’m going to share…

    Right now, I’m watching my beloved Chicago Cubs in the playoffs!
    My dog always poops twice, except when I bring 2 bags. It’s like she wants to spite me…
    We have a fenced backyard, but the fence has blown down a few times. Instead of getting it fixed, my husband has it propped up…white trash much?
    I feel you on the driving. I’d rather run or cycle any day!

    Like

Share your thoughts

